Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | January 20, 2014

one year (six months late)

I’m not sure why I never published this post from July. Anyway, here it is…

 

Baby J is one year old already. I’m a terrible blogger. Terrible.

Things are going better. I’m still breastfeeding him, but it is slowing down to maybe 4 times a day as he eats more food. He is sleeping better except when teething, which seems like all the time lately. It is just not very consistent. One night he will sleep straight through from 10pm to 4 or 5 am. Other nights he is up every 3 hours still. He almost always wakes up about an hour after we put him down for bed. It is much better than it was though. I’m a little embarrassed to say that he didn’t start consistently sleeping in his crib until 9-10 months old. He slept with me in the bed or in the rock n play sleeper, or sometimes the swing. It took forever to get him to sleep in the crib all night. I thought it would never end, but it did, and here we are several months later and I barely remember those days. He does not nap well though. Maybe half an hour in the morning and if I’m lucky an hour in the afternoon. Birdie gave up naps altogether about 3 months ago. The days are looonnnnnnnnnnnnnng.

I’m still having issues with depression and anxiety. I’m still on antidepressants. My doctor is nice, but says oh well when you start sleeping more you will probably feel a lot better. I did get some blood work done and my vitamin D level was pretty low, so I have started supplements.

We are having a lot of challenges with Birdie. I don’t have the energy to go into them right now, but will say that we are starting occupational therapy for some sensory processing issues. If anyone has any experience with this, please share! She has always been sensitive to sounds, smells, clothes, etc, but it was really beginning to interfere with activities. Our insurance coverage sucks and basically we only get 6 sessions with the OT to get some ideas how to help her.

Leave a Reply

Categories

