Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 8, 2012

6 weeks

I can’t believe how quickly these past weeks have gone. The first 10 days of recovery after the c section were a little rough, but after that the swelling went down and the pain decreased. S took 3 weeks off, which was great. My aunt was here for the first two weeks which was so helpful. Now, at nearly 6 weeks, I feel normal again.

Baby J is a very good baby. He rarely cries – just when he is hungry or wet or poopy. It is a completely different experience that with Birdie, who cried A LOT. ALL THE TIME. While he is easier in many ways, it has still been difficult, because I am nursing him all the time (or so it seems) and Birdie is missing having time with me. She has been so good with him, but having more tantrums in general. S puts her to bed now. I miss that time with her, but it  is so good for them to have that connection. Breastfeeding has gone much better this time around. I got lactation consultants to help right away, but ended up using a nipple shield again. My milk supply is apparently good because he is gaining weight, and so far, things are going well. I am so thankful!

Here are some pictures:

Birdie meeting Baby J, just a few hours old

1 week old

Birdie, 2.5 years old

Responses

  1. he and birdie are beautiful! thanks for the pictures!

  2. love the pictures! It’s an adjustment that’s for sure 🙂 Hope you’re getting rest here and there

  3. I love the pic of Birdie meeting the baby. It is so sweet.

    Two kids still seems like a little more work than I’m ready to take on. Michael has moved into having more tantrums lately too, so I really feel for you dealing with those and the baby.

    I love the pic of Birdie painting. I introduced water colors the other week to Michael and he loved them. He’s really into The Berenstain Bears lately, and loves to look at the pictures. I have been sharing with him that those pictures were made with water colors and he’s in awe. Perhaps it will inspire some creativity in him.

  4. He is beautiful. And so is birdie 🙂 Such sweet photos. I’m glad BFing is going well so far. And S taking 3 weeks off? Awesome. A took 2 weeks when we had V, and it was a huge help. So I bet that was wonderful for you all!

  5. love. 🙂 you’re doing a great job, mommy!!!

  6. Congratulations! Baby J is so beautiful. What a sweet, gorgeous family you have! I’m so happy for you guys!


Leave a Reply

Categories

