Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | March 7, 2012

level 2 ultrasound

We had the big ultrasound last week, at nearly 22 weeks. First of all, and most importantly, the baby looks healthy. And it’s a boy! I am happy and relieved that everything looks okay. The ultrasound tech was great. She showed us all kinds of thing and explained a lot. I thanked her at the end for that, and she said she technically is not supposed to say anything, but that is very hard. She is an instructor at the local university and says that she has to tell her students not to say anything during ultrasounds. I would have been a wreck if she had not shown us things and talked as she went along.

I still am not feeling a whole lot of movement. I did feel a lot the day of the ultrasound, probably because we pissed the baby off with all the poking and proding. The placenta is along the left side of my uterus, kind of going around to the front, which may explain that.

I am 23 weeks now. We need to start getting the guest room cleared out, and start thinking of names. I am a little bummed that we won’t be able to reuse some of the adorable girl things from Birdie. I really should go through them and give them away, but I can’t bear to do it. Most of the baby gear we have is neutral, but very little of the clothes are. I suppose that means I can look forward to shopping for cute baby boy things. There will be no more babies after this, which makes me sad, but it also makes me really appreciative that we are even in this incredible place.

I still cannot believe I am pregnant. I feel like I am huge for 23 weeks, compared to how I was with Birdie. I have gained 13 pounds, most of which is rather recent, and he is measuring a little ahead but not gigantic. I have been craving salads again, but the one I loved the most during my pregnancy with Birdie has been taken off the menu at our old favorite restaurant, and my second favorite restaurant salad is way across town now that we have moved, and nobody else seems to really like the food there except me, so that is going to be a rare treat. I have discovered a great (and cheap) salad bar at the fancy grocery store near our new house, so that is good.

I am tired. Birdie has been waking up with nightmares a lot lately, so between that and having to pee several times a night, I have not been sleeping well.

I have been slacking on keeping the house picked up and organized, and I feel bad about that. How do you all go about doing housework? Do you have a schedule, like sweep and mop on Tuesdays, clean the bathroom on Wednesdays or something like that? I am not the most organized person in the world, and I can’t ever seem to get ahead. My first priority is always Birdie, and I try to do fun and interesting activities with her, but it is exhausting. I try to clean up the house as we go, but if I get a little behind at all it is misery trying to get back on top of the clutter and general cleaning. We have been sick so many times this winter, and the house gets trashed, and it is a monumental effort to get back to a reasonable state. I am so exhausted by the time she goes to sleep that I don’t have the energy to clean then. I have been resting when she naps too, which is the only thing keeping me going.

I need to figure out a system before the new baby comes, because I can only imagine how much more difficult it will be with two. Please give me some ideas!

 

Responses

  1. congratulations on the bouncing baby boy!! so glad he looks healthy 🙂

  2. yay for a great level II ultrasound!! yay for a baby boy!! happy for you : )

    mo

  3. Glad he’s looking good!
    No help from me on the other stuff – we have a nanny who keeps the house clean and looks after K, so I’m not one to give advice!

  4. 😉 yea for a little boy!

    we used to have someone come and clean the house, but then we really tightened up on the budget. we haven’t really gotten into the groove yet, we try to alternate cleaning. one week we’ll clean the upstairs, the next week we’ll clean the downstairs. the kitchen and bathrooms get cleaned weekly. the kids LOVE to dust and vacuum, so i actually try to do some of it as one of our “activities”. HA! they also love to organize, so i try to involve them in reorginization projects, too!!

    congrats!!

  5. Yay for a healthy boy! That’s great 🙂

    As for your house… I hear you on that. I wish we could work out a system or schedule lol.

  6. Hello! accedak interesting accedak site! I’m really like it! Very, very accedak good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

