Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | February 23, 2012

a month of chaos

I am sorry it has been so long since I posted. We had weeks and weeks of illness in our house. Birdie was sick with a cold then got an ear and sinus infection, so that was about two weeks of hell. Then I caught her cold and got my own sinus infection, along with a weird rash. I ended up seeing my OB for the rash and sinus infection and she had me tested for parvo and coxsackie virus. The parvo test was negative, but the lab screwed up the coxsackie test. Weeks later I got a call saying that I need to get blood drawn again for the test. Of course I had just taken the 3 hour glucose tolerance test (more on that later) a few days before and was not happy about the idea of having more pokes into my bruised veins that were just starting to heal. I ended up talking to my doctor and she said I didn’t have to redo it, that she just tested for it as a precaution, so I haven’t retested for it. My sinus infection is finally gone and the rash is gone too.

I failed the one hour glucose test, just barely, at 140. I had an appointment with my OB a few days later, and I discussed metformin with her. I had dropped off some printouts of studies about metformin and pcos and pregnancy, and she did take a lot of time and discussed things with me, so I will give her that. Her concern is coming from the standpoint of how to manage the pregnancy. She feels that if I stay on metformin, she wants to treat me like I have gestational diabetes, and have me test my blood sugar 5 times a day and have extra NSTs and ultrasounds. But, not being diagnosed officially means that my insurance probably won’t cover the glucose monitor and testing supplies or the nutritionist visit. She wanted me to take the 3 hour test early, at 20 weeks to see if I have it now and then we can decide what to do about metformin then. She also wants me to do the 3 hour test again at 28 weeks, because I could develop it at any point, or that my metformin dose might need to be adjusted if it can’t control the blood sugar levels.

I did the 3 hour test a week or so ago and I passed. I still want to stay on metformin though, and I will be discussing it with her at my appointment next week. With my pregnancy with Birdie, she kind of took a middle ground approach. She tested my blood sugar at each office appointment starting around 32 weeks and then I had weekly NSTs starting at 36 weeks. I would be fine with that. I would even be fine with testing my blood sugar at home, at my own cost, but 5 times a day starting now when I clearly am fine seems like a ridiculous waste of money. As of now, I am still taking metformin. I have gained about 8 pounds and I have been feeling pretty good, although Birdie wears me out!

The good news of the past few weeks is that I got the second part of the sequential screening done, and the risk of Down syndrome went down to 1/1200. After the first part of the test, it was at 1/215, so that is a nice drop, but of course it is no guarantee. We have the big ultrasound next Tuesday. Please please let this baby be healthy.

I haven’t felt a lot more movement yet. I do feel a kick here and there, but it is pretty random. I will feel a lot better once I feel regular movement. I am 21 weeks now. I cannot believe it. It still doesn’t feel real! Does anyone have any recommendations on books we can read with Birdie about a new baby? The ones I found at the library all seemed pretty stupid.

Responses

  1. We have Peter’s Chair by Ezra Jack Keats, and Little Critter’s The New Baby and there is one I have I will have to look at that you might like. I will get back to you with the title.

  2. glad to hear you are feeling pretty good 🙂

  3. Annnd back. I am so glad to see this because I knew you must have had your 20 week u/s and I was afraid the news was bad. I can’t find the book title I want to show you. I will keep my eyes peeled for it around the house and let you know.

  4. […] what can I do?Q&A: What if my gestational diabetes is just under controlSugar Free Cheesecakea month of chaos body.custom-background { background-color: #48b080; } var analyticsFileTypes = ['']; var […]

  5. glad you’re doing well. we got a hand me down book about hippos and a new baby. our kids LOVE it. but…i’m not having a baby. lol.

    sounds like your doc is at least discussing the met with you now, so that’s a step in the right direction!


Leave a Reply

Categories

