Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | December 24, 2011

NT scan and Birdie’s birthday (warning: ultrasound pictures included)

So the scan was this morning, and it went really well. The ultrasound tech was awesome. She had taken the time to read my chart and knew our history, which was nice. She asked me about the different due dates, especially the July 9th one and I explained that my OB changed the due date based on the ultrasound where the baby was measuring small, but that based on my LMP (which are in line with the dates S was in town for potential ovulation) it should be July 3rd. She spent a nice long time looking around and taking measurements, and the baby is measuring big again, with the due date looking like between June 29th and July 2nd. I don’t know that it really matters, but if it comes down to a scheduled c section, I’d like to know the most accurate due date possible.

The nuchal fold measurement was between 1.2 and 1.4, which she said was good. We won’t get the blood test part of the results for another week or two. The baby looks good though. It was great to get to see it again, and to see it move. Part of me still cannot believe that this is happening. She switched to 3d, and at first we couldn’t see much of anything, but then we could see the arms and legs.

S and I went out to lunch afterwards and then rushed home to clean the house and get ready for Birdie’s party. It went really well, better than expected. Everyone had a good time, Birdie was a total ham and cracked people up, and everyone left by 7pm. We had a slideshow going on the tv of pictures of Birdie, and at the end, I included two ultrasound pictures, with a little note saying due in July. The slideshow was going on in the background and cycled through 200 pictures, and no one seemed to notice when it went through the first time, so while we were having cupcakes, I froze it on the ultrasound. One of S’s aunts finally caught it and said something and everyone was surprised and happy. I felt like an odd fertile imposter who was getting away with some big scam. I had to keep reminding myself to relax and just go with it. We ended up telling my family over Skype. They were all gathered at my uncle’s house for a party and it seemed like as good a time as any.

So, it is out. And it is scary, but okay. Birdie’s birthday went well. We had a good day overall. I am exhausted and can’t wait to fall into bed, but first, here are a couple of ultrasound pictures.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Congratulations!! So glad to hear that the birthday party went well as did the scan!! Oh man, it’s awesome that the tech knew your history before she did anything. I swear, when they take the time to read the history it makes the appointment so much better.

  2. I am so excited for you and glad the results look good! Happy Birthday Birdie!

  3. Glad to hear everything went well yesterday. What a relief!
    Now if only the same lightening would strike over here… 🙂

  4. So glad that the party went well, and the scan did too. Awesome ultrasound pics! Happy belated birthday to Birdie!

  5. yay! great pictures!

  6. 🙂 that is all awesome news. so glad that everything went well and looks good. and glad the birthday party went off well. they actually start to get a little fun now 🙂

    happy birthday to birdie, congrats on 12 weeks, and happy holidays. try to relax a bit!!

  7. Great pics and congratulations!

  8. I’m so happy for you! A two year old and a healthy looking one on the way. I’m glad that you were able to make the announcement.


Leave a Reply

Categories

