Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | November 22, 2011

amazing

I tried to post this last night but I kept losing my internet connection and after like ten times I gave up and went to bed.

 

I am so relieved and happy to have seen a heartbeat today! All week I kept going back and forth between feeling hopeful and feeling completely doomed. I went to the appointment by myself because S did not get back from his work trip until late tonight. We could see the heartbeat immediately. It was beautiful. Unfortunately the speakers were not working so I did not get to hear it, but I got a picture of it. 162 beats per minute.

The embryo is still measuring a week behind but had grown appropriately and measured 6w 6d. I discussed the dates with her and we can’t quite figure it out, unless I ovulated several days after S and I last had sex and somehow one of his slow sperm fertilized it. Based on the measurement of the embryo today, she thinks we conceived on the 15th or 16th, but the last possible date we could have sex was the 12th. Whatever. As long as it is healthy and growing and things look good, I will just have to let it go.

This is a terrible picture, and is completely off center (again perhaps indicating my ob’s lack of ultrasound expertise?). The baby is on the far far left. You can see the yolk sac a bit above the embryo.

She is changing the due date to be July 10, 2012. I will go back for another ultrasound in 3 weeks. I pressed to get a nuchal translucency scan (she said not many of her patients ask for it), and will get that done with the maternal fetal medicine group at the hospital sometime the week after Christmas (if things continue to go well).

Oh my god you guys, it’s alive! Thank you so much for all of the positive thoughts and kind comments!

Responses

  1. OMG is right! You’ve got a turkey in the oven for Thanksgiving!!!

  2. Fantastic news!! Doesn’t sperm live 3-5 days up there? So that would make sense 🙂

  3. Well, technically yes, sperm can live for 3-5 days, but DH has pretty severe male factor issues, with very low morphology (only 3% normal sperm) so we didn’t really think that was possible. But, apparently it was!

  4. yea! just catching up on your last 3 posts. 🙂 what fab news. so excited for you and this little “bonus baby”!!!

    and the dates don’t have to be exact. my guess is that you are prob right and that the measurement is a little off. that’s what’s more subjective than DH being out of town! HA!!

  5. Awesome! It all sounds good! One more thing to be thankful for this Thanksgiving.

    I’ve heard sperm can live for up to 10 days… which I know is kinda nuts and usually just told to teenagers to warn them of the DANGERS of sex but one of my neighbors got pregnant from sex that she had on her period, so it definitely happens.

  6. yay yay yay!!! i am so happy for you!!!

  7. Yay! Haven’t checked in in a while, so I missed the waiting drama, but I sure am glad to see the happy update. Hope the next U/S is just as good!

  8. So happy for you 😀

  9. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Categories

