Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | November 14, 2011

Not good news

At the ultrasound today, my ob was able to see a small sac, but no clear heartbeat. She thought she ‘might have seen some fluttering’ but it was not measurable. I should be 6 weeks 6 days today, and i am pretty clear on the dates, not because i know exactly when ovulation occurred but because i know when my husband was out of town.
i am taking this as a bad sign. My betas were high, at what i think was 20 dpo it was 1382, then 44 hours later it was 3100. My first beta was two weeks ago. I should have been able to see a heartbeat last week by the beta numbers. The sac measured 6w0d today. Not good.

Now, it wss my ob and not a highly trained ultrasound tech. Their machine didnt look totally shitty but it also was not the nicest i have seen. Could it be still viable? A very small maybe. The doctor doesnt seem terribly worried but i dont think she gets how sure i am of dates. She did have some trouble finding my uterus at all, so perhaps she isnt super skilled at very early ultrasounds or maybe my uterus is tipped and it made it difficult to measure. I will have another ultrasound next monday.

I should have known better than to think this could be true.

Edited to add: sorry, i should have been more clear. We did see a fetal pole (she did not call it as such) and measured crl as about 5mm. So it not a completely empty sac, for what that is worth.

Responses

  1. *hugs* just *hugs*

  2. I’m a lurker. If it’s any consolation with my first pregnancy at 6wks we couldnt see a heartbeat either just maybe a flicker. When we went in at 7wks and some odd days it was clearly there. Thinking of you.

  3. Oh Birds. I do not even know what to say. It is totally horrid that you have to wait a whole week for another ultrasound. I am thinking of you and hoping hoping hoping.

  4. hoping that it was the OB & the older u/s machine. Things develop so quickly the first few weeks, hoping for great news next week. Thinking of you.

  5. I’m hoping for the best for you.

    On my 6week u/s they couldn’t see the heartbeat at all, but it was a very good machine and they went to the doppler mode and were able to detect a beat, but it wasn’t even strong enough to take a reading but they released me anyways. Keep some room for hope.

  6. Sending prayers.

  7. wait. she was an ob who couldn’t find your uterus?? was this transvag? i’m holding out hope that she is just not savy with an US and that everything is fine, but i totally understand your reservations as i’ve been there before.

    hugs! (and fingers crossed)

  8. missed your prior post – so much – what a roller coaster. i’m with strongblonde. she’s echoed my sentiments exactly. wishing you could get news without having to wait a week.

    with you. thinking of you.

    mo

  9. it’s still very early… good luck, you’re in my thoughts.

  10. So sorry for the limbo, but hoping nonetheless. It’s still early, and if you have a tilted uterus or she had trouble finding it at all I’d say there is still a chance. Hoping so much for you (*hugs*)

  11. I hope this weekend goes fast for you.

  12. I found your blog through the LFCA. I am so sorry to hear about what you are going through. I too had a similar experience last month. I went for an ultrasound at 6 weeks 4 days and they could only find a sac. A week later, there were no changes. I know how painful that week of waiting is. However, at least there is a fetal poll! Words of advice I was given that helped me through the week were “keep being positive. At this point there is nothing you can do to change the outcome, and if things do work in your favour, the added stress may not be good for the growing baby.” I know it is MUCH easier said then done. For some odd reason though, I would keep repeating that mantra and it seemed to calm me down. I think giving up control is the hardest thing when you are dealing (or have dealt with IF).
    I hope that your situation ends better than mine did. *Hugs*


Leave a Reply

Categories

