Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | September 8, 2011

fall is here!

I love this time of year. Every year after Labor day, it is like a switch has been flipped and the cool air makes me go digging for sweaters. I realized that I don’t have any long sleeved shirts for Birdie that fit! Time to be on the lookout for sales at baby gap.

Speaking of, where do you guys buy your kids’ clothes from? I usually end up getting her stuff from baby gap and old navy. I wait until there is a 30-40% sale and stock up, or shop their clearance. I’ve tried clothes from other places (kohls, target) but their clothes don’t hold up as well and seem less comfortable. I think Birdie has inherited my sensory issues with tags and scratchy seams. I have tried children’s consignment shops around here and haven’t had much luck. Costco, actually, has been a great place to buy pajamas. Their kirkland organic cotton pjs have been a staple around here for a long time. We also got some hannah andersson sleepers from Costco, which worked well for the summer, but Birdie has been pulling at the zippers and seems to not like them anymore, so back to the two piece pjs I guess.

We had a bit of a worry with Birdie’s rash a couple of weeks ago. She had this awful rash on her hands and wrists, then it spread up her arm and on her legs. We went back to the doctor and he thought it might be vasculitis so he referred us for an urgent dermatology visit. Of course googling that made me convinced she had some awful disease. The dermatologist thought it could be a viral exanthem related to her cold and ear infection earlier in the month. It has been a month now, and with some prescription ointment is is better but not completely gone, so the dermatologist thinks she has eczema. It is weird, because it does not look like any of the pictures I have looked at for eczema. It started as tiny little pinprick dots on her wrist and hands that would flare up when she was crying. We are trying a new steroid ointment and will follow up with the doctor again if it doesn’t go away.

My sister visited (while the rash drama was going on) and we went away for the long weekend. It was great to see my sister. It made me want a sibling for Birdie even more. The trip we look was pretty good overall. Birdie did great traveling. It gave me hope for being able to take her to visit my family across the country. Of course, a 3 hour drive is not quite a 12 hour plane and car trip that it takes to get to my mom’s house, but it is a start. The evil death screech she made when angry had stopped for a week or so but made its return the other day. If she did that on a plane, I think the other passengers would kill us in about two seconds.

 

Responses

  1. i get most of louise’s clothes at old navy, but also baby gap, kohl’s, target and penny’s. i like to stock up when things are on sale or clearance as well, right now i’m buying things in 24 months since she’s got PLENTY of clothes in her current size.

    did birdies rash seem to start in hair follicles? i’m sure your doctor’s know what they’re doing better than i do, but could it be folliculitis? or impetigo?

  2. I’m in Canada, so it’s probably different here. I get some clothes on sale at old navy. If I were in the States, I’d probably buy stuff on sale at diapers.com and via ebay too. I buy almost everything at Value Village for K. They have all sorts of stuff from Gap, Old Navy, and especially Children’s Place for sale for so cheap. $3-4 for a pair of pants, similar for a shirt. And every now and again they have a 50% off day, which is really dangerous for me. I also buy her shoes there for $3-5 per pair. There’s so much more choice and it’s way cheaper than a consigment store. It’s a little like the Salvation Army or Goodwill, which I haven’t checked out yet. I love second-hand clothes for kids though, since they grow out of them so fast.

  3. I’ve been very happy with the Children’s Store, I’d say I buy 90% of his clothes from there- they have great sales and he is comfortable in them. Will have to try baby gap- we tried old Navy but the clothes shrank to fast in the wash 😦

  4. Do you have any moms/parents groups in the area? Be on the lookout as many of these groups do annual or biannual sales where they sell gently used baby gear and clothing. We have a couple in the town where I used to live and I have gotten tons and tons of amazing things for Henry that way. Other than that we shop sales, outlet stores, etc. just like you — sorry I don’t have any great ideas!

    Sorry about Birdie’s rash…as someone with highly sensitive skin who breaks out in hives randomly and for no apparent reason, I can relate to the frustration of not knowing a cause. I’ve found with Henry that so far any rashes he’s had have been transient w/o an obvious cause. Hopefully hers will just go away, and soon!

  5. We love Baby Gap too, and I have to admit that I am an eBay junkie. I am always on the lookout for Baby Gap items, and even though I am completely fine with the preowned things I’ve bought on eBay, I’ve also found some real treasures that are brand new with tags. Even with the shipping costs I’ve saved so much money that way, and I LOVE my girl’s fall wardrobe. I’m also a huge fan of Tea Collection, Hanna Andersson, Old Navy and Naartjie, all of which I look for and find regularly on eBay. Just a thought.
    For what it’s worth, if you get a chance, I would love to see a few cute fall pics of Birdie! Her pictures are always so beautiful! 🙂

  6. i just realized we don’t have any clothes, either!! we had so many hand-me-downs (my favorite way to get kids clothes) for the first two years!! we barely bought anything. apparently this is something that i’m going to have to add to my budget! lol.

    and poor thing with the rash! i hate dermatology stuff b/c you have to be so smart and work backwards and sometimes you never know!

  7. and YEA for fall 🙂

  8. Question about the rash: Had birdie been on amoxicillin? Twice I’ve gotten a ridiculous rash all over my body from the stuff and can no longer take it. Each time though, it cleared up within a week.

    I also get a rash from some commerical detergents (so like after I’ve stayed at a hotel for more than a couple nights). I got it for the first time when I was on my honeymoon in Disney World. Interestingly, I also got it all over my abdomen where they rubbed me with that orangey dissenfectant stuff when I had laparoscopy. I believe the common ingredient had an iodine base. Both times, they took weeks to go away and allergy medicines and creams did nothing.

    I had allergic purpura as a kid relating to an earlier strep throat infection and it was awful. I’d think if Birdie had something like that, you’d be noticing more symtpoms.

  9. We have an outlet mall near our house, and it has a Carter, The Children’s Place and an Osh Cosh store. I love it when I catch their clearance prices! I never thought about CostCo, I’ll have to check it out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

