Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | June 27, 2011

maybe?

I don’t want to get too excited about it, because things could still fall through, but we accepted an offer on our old house! It’s low. Really low. Lower than we thought we would take. But it would be OVER. We could move on, not have to worry about making double mortgage payments for the next six months to a year. We decided that it was worth it to get rid of the stress. I don’t even want to spend another second thinking about how much money we put into it and how much we are losing on it.

Please let this work out!

 

Responses

  1. i hope it works out!! sorry you will be losing money, pretty common story here in michigan. i am HOPING that when we go to sell we can sell for at least as much as we paid. we bought when the market was down and paid under market value, so i’ve got my fingers crossed. we can’t sell for a couple more year anyway, but i’m really hoping to move back to montana in three or four years.

  2. Our home is currently worth 35 k less than we paid for it. And my Mom’s might not even get her down payment back on her house in Florida. I totally understand why you would just want to be done.

  3. There’s a lot to be said for just putting it behind you, even at a loss. Who knows how long it would take to sell, how much more you’d sink into double mortgage payments. I hope it goes through and you can destress!

  4. I don’t blame you for taking it either. It’s not worth crying over spilt milk (unless it’s breast milk). I don’t have the nerves for double mortgage payments.

    I was going to mention to you that I’m not a big user of Craigslist, but my husband is… he is the guy that looks for stuff for all his farm friends (he spends so much time doing it that he should charge for his services). But I didn’t know it you know about http://www.searchtempest.com/. You can search all the craigslist’s in your area and ebay too, so it makes it so much easier to find stuff and save you time from pouring thought all kinds of crap everyday. You can even set up an RSS feed for your search and get automatic notifications when someone posts something. I’m definitely more into using craigslist now that I know about that and I just wanted to share in case you hadn’t heard of it either.

  5. We just did this and while I still cringe when I consider not only the loss of the money we had in the house but the fact that we had to BRING A CHECK TO CLOSING, it was so worth it to be free of the house — and the stress, as you said. I think you’re doing the right thing. Hope it works out!

  6. Argh, I’m so sorry y’all have to take such a painful loss on the house. But what a relief to be able to move on! Now you can put all your focus and resources into your new home!

  7. i’ve been keeping my fingers crossed for you!!! 🙂

  8. Hoping it goes through! Fingers crossed, and positive thoughts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

