Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | February 22, 2011

first steps!

Finally! On Sunday, at almost 14 months, Birdie took her first steps. She was standing at her activity table thing and took 3 or 4 little steps to me. S was in the basement and I made such a fuss that he came upstairs to see what was going on, and she did it again, for him to see. She will take a couple of steps a few times a day, but it’s like she hardly realizes she is doing it. I still haven’t been able to catch it on video.

In other news, she is now drinking milk in a sippy cup. It took forever, but slowly slowly she tried it and will now drink 2 to 3 ounces once or twice a day. At first I mixed in some Brown Cow maple yogurt (which she loves) but now we are on straight lactaid. I tried regular organic whole milk, but we had some really bad nights, and I don’t know if she just doesn’t tolerate the lactose or what. I will try it again in a while, but for now this is working. I just wish they made organic lactaid.

I need some new food ideas for her. I am not a good cook, so the things I make for her are very simple. Like most babies (I guess maybe is a toddler now?), it takes her a while to accept new foods. I get so sick of making things for her and her completely refusing them. What are your favorite meals and snacks for a one year old?

At what point do people stop giving jars of baby food? I am guessing long before now. I am a little embarrassed to admit that we still give her some baby food, mostly vegetables, since she refuses all chunks of veggies. If I have to give her a jar of peas or green beans or carrots or squash for her to get some veggies, then I will do it. We also keep a bunch of those plum organics and earth’s best pouches on hand for when we go out to eat.

In general, these are her favorite things to eat:

Breakfast:

  • mini waffles (the tiny round eggo ones) with butter or cream cheese or a little bit of fruit spread
  • mini bagel or toast (with the same things above)
  • dry cheerios
  • yogurt with fruit or veggies- we use yo baby peach and blueberry, pear and green bean, apple sweet potato. She also likes Brown Cow maple, and Stonyfield farm plain mixed with fruit purees
  • cottage cheese – this is kind of weird, but I get the large curd kind and rinse itΒ  so it’s just the curds because she likes to feed it to herself instead of me giving it to her on a spoon. Once it has the liquidy stuff rinsed off it, she can pick it up and put it in her mouth
  • scrambled eggs with cheese
  • oatmeal (the baby cereal kind) with yogurt and fruit

Lunches and dinners:

  • gardenburgers
  • boca patties
  • fake chicken nuggets
  • cheese quesadilla
  • grilled cheese sandwich pieces
  • rice (if I mix some cheese in to hold it together into little bits she can pick up, but if there are veggies she picks them out and drops them onto the floor)
  • pasta (although I have been lazy and haven’t made much pasta lately

Snacks

  • grapes, cut into quarters, skins on
  • crackers (graham, saltines with no salt, low sodium ritz)
  • cheese, shredded or tiny pieces
  • diced pears and peaches (the ones packed in juice)
  • earth’s best cereal bars
  • hummus
  • grated apple
  • gnawing on a pickle

Things she is not crazy about:

  • banana
  • avocado
  • melon
  • strawberries and blueberries
  • peas
  • beans
  • tempeh
  • tofu
  • corn
  • carrot
  • asparagus
  • cucumber
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • sweet potato chunks
  • regular potato, chunks or mashed

Baby foods she still loves:

  • peas and brown rice
  • green beans and brown rice
  • green bean casserole
  • carrots
  • sweet potatoes
  • squash
  • peach pear barley
  • gerber puffs
  • gerber crunchies
  • banana baby mum mums

I know that if I keep offering veggies, at some point she will eat them. I hope. It is just so hard when I steam something and offer it and it ends up on the floor. I have tried hiding peas and corn in a quesadilla. That sort of worked. Any ideas for me?

I am still nursing her probably 4 times a day, but it is mostly for comfort. I don’t think I am producing much milk. I have backed way down on the fenugreek and don’t pump at all. She hasn’t been weighed since early January, but at that point she had regained what she lost plus a pound and a half, and she has been eating really well, so I am not really concerned about her weight or growth at this point. I just want to make sure we are giving her a balanced, healthy diet.

Responses

  1. omg. i’m first? i was hoping to get food ideas for ME! πŸ™‚ i just said to B tonight that i have no idea what to make anymore. tonight for dinner they had turkey dogs (cut into tiny pieces), cheese, carrots (babyfood!!) (i try veggies all.the.time, and most days they don’t eat them. i still use the babyfood to make sure they get SOMETHING), and M had pita and hummus. T is still refusing to even try it. last night they had some of our red beans and rice. well….M did. T ate cheese.

    Food is something that I stress about on a daily basis. I can’t wait to see what people recommend.

    and walking?? good for birdie! πŸ™‚ wahoo!!

  2. Yay for walking. πŸ™‚ I would encourage you to read the book Disease Proof Your Child, by Joel Fuhrman. It talks a lot about the best foods to feed our children. You mention fake chicken nuggets and Boca Burgers, those are very processed. The jury is still out on whether soy is good for us or not. Graham crackers, ritz crackers, and saltines usually have high fructose corn syrup and/or enriched flour, two other ingredients common in processed foods. I think it’s great that she likes so many fruits and veggies too! And again, you don’t have to give her any milk at all. She can get calcium and all the other vitamins from other foods (the book talks about this). But you can try organic coconut milk or almond milk if you would like. Good luck!

  3. I am awful, because I am so afraid of Peter choking. So I am really dragging my heels with people food. Peter LOVES chicken. He totally mooches when I have a grilled chicken sandwich. He loves chicken soup. He loves grits, I make either cheese or I mash in a banana. I make it with milk so there are more calories. He loves macaroni and cheese. I take pastina and simmer it in chicken stock( more flavor and calories) and make a roux with whole wheat flour, then I add some cheese. He loves that. I thin it with half and half. He loves cheese sticks. I break off little pieces. He HATES beef. He likes blueberries, I put those through the food mil with banana and add a scoop of rice cereal and a spoonful of ground flaxseed for breakfast.
    He hates homemade oatmeal but likes the Earths Best oatmeal.

    He loves Plum Organic puffs. He is a puff junkie.

    He likes potatoes, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, butter nut squash( not acorn), I make him “ziti” with pastina and tomato sauce and ricotta and mozzarella. He likes that. He tried some of my homemade pizza and he liked that.

    He loves yogurt, I add ground flaxseed to that too. The first time we made whole grain pancakes he liked them, but has refused them twice since then.
    For dinner sometimes he gets what I make sometimes he tries what I make and gets babyfood. I like Plum Organics best but will fill in with Earth’s Best. I have tried the Jamie Oliver brand and that is pretty good.

    Umm, I keep saying he has to try fish but I hate fish so I have not cooked any. He loves my homemade pear and apple sauce. He hated my beef stew. I get really frustrated when he tosses his food on the floor too. Umm, I tried him on toast and he hated it. We gave him a bagel and he liked that. He hated cream cheese and goat cheese but likes cheddar. He tolerates cottage cheese. We buy the yobaby too. He hated egg salad, and was totally uninterested in scrambled eggs and omelets.

    I give him organic as much as possible.

  4. Congratulations on the first steps! Very exciting!

    I wish I could add value here…I’m looking for food ideas too! Only thing I can think to add is there is this brand called Dr. Praegers that they sell at Whole Foods in the freezer section. It is pretty healthy as far as processed foods go. H loves the sweet potato pancakes — they make other vegetable flavors as well. Oh and even though H is pretty good w/vegetables we definitely still do the jar purees. It’s just too hard to try to get enough in him outside of those! I don’t think there’s any harm at all as long as they keep taking them.

  5. And DUH! Hooray for first steps!

  6. Sunshine’s still eating baby food, too. Mostly at home, since they discourage it at her daycare. Re YoBaby, check the packaging, it’s very high is sugar, particularly the drinkable yogurt. Granted, it’s fruit juice concentrate, but that’s still sugar. I’m kind of neurotic about trying to keep Sunshine from getting a real sweet tooth. I mix up fruit yogurt myself. It’s SO easy. I mix fruit baby food (I check that it’s just fruit puree, without fruit juice concentrate added) with plain Greek yogurt (I use Fage). Since the Greek yogurt is kind of tart, I add just a touch of honey. This way I’m totally in control of the sugar content. Sometimes I’ll also add in a little oatmeal for the fiber and to add texture (not baby oatmeal, it’s too finely ground). That’s been her breakfast lately.

    For lunch at daycare I cut up some cheese. I always send cheese, since she loves it, and since she started eating it regularly we haven’t had a leaky poopy diapers. YAY! I buy the precooked Perdue chicken strips (they’re called Perdue Short Cuts), they’re just pieces of plain cooked chicken, no breading. When I open the package I spread out the pieces in a flat container and put it in the freezer. When they’re frozen, I take them out of the container and put them in a ziplock bag. So all I do each night to prepare for the next day’s lunch is take out a little bit from the freezer, stick it in the toaster over for a few minutes, then dice it up for her to feed herself. Today I also sent some whole wheat rotini pasta with bits of broccoli with a bit of olive oil to coat everything and a little sprinkling of parmesan cheese. For her afternoon snack at daycare, I usually send applesauce or a banana. Once Summer rolls around and more fruit is in season, I’ll send more of a variety. She also loves diced roast beef I’ve gotten from the deli. After dicing, I microwave it so it’s not rare. But her favorite is my mother’s pot roast. (The cats circle the high chair hoping she’ll drop some!)

    Dinner is usually baby food, ’cause I want her eat enough to sleep well, and I know a lot of the finger food will wind up on the floor. She usually has more cheese when I’m cutting up her cheese for the next day, and I resort to keeping her busy with baby puffs or cheerios while I get her food ready for the next day.

    And just so you know I’m not a mean “no treats” mom, she usually has a half a Gerber banana cookie after dinner. It keeps her occupied while I clean up and get things ready to put her to bed.

  7. That should be “toaster OVEN” not “toaster over.” Sorry for the looooooong comment. BTW, the refusing food and throwing it on the floor is totally age appropriate.

    And YAY on the walking! Sunshine is a champion cruiser, but just isn’t ready to let go.

  8. Yay for first steps! I know she has taken her time getting to them, but she’s really not behind or anything. I think it would be great if Michael starts walking around 14 months, but as long as it’s before 18 months, I’m fine with it.

    I think you have a really good food list going. I have a tough time with all of this too. Michael is only just now allowing more textures in and swallowing some of them, so we still eat a lot of baby food here and probably will for awhile.

    You’ll be disappointed in us, we feed Michael some meat baby foods. I would have like to raise him vegetarian (not that my husband would go along with it anyhow) but since he can’t handle soy and most beans, I just didn’t feel that I could give him the diet he needed without some meat. But he’s only getting it a few times a week still. I figure that the little bit of meat, yogurt, cheese, and my milk are plenty of protein for him for now.

    Since he turned a year I have been giving him strawberries at snack time and he loves them so much. Finally something he likes more than cheese! On thing I do is mix pasta in with some of his baby foods so that it becomes the sauce or maybe more of a soup. Like gerber makes a farmer’s market (organic) flavor with tomatoes, corn and carrots. I mix little pasta “O’s” in and it’s kinda spaghetti like and is an alternative to marinara sauce. Or I mixed some pasta stars in some earth’s best Chicken and brown rice and it’s kinda a chicken soup. He likes pasta a lot and it’s easy so it works for us.

    We are really boring and basically follow the same menu everyday:

    Oatmeal for breakfast 50/50 baby oatmeal with breast milk and regular oatmeal with cows milk… but he’s getting tired of this. I need to find something tasty to make breakfast more fun. Maybe some fruit? I want to stay away from more carbs or processed food. We tried egg today, not successful.

    Lunch is 1/2 package of veg and 1/2 package of fruit and maybe a little piece of cheese or a couple of annies crackers

    Snack is 1/2 a yo baby and some fruit and maybe a cracker or puffs

    Dinner- we are trying to feed him some of what we are eating and then baby food 1/2 veg and 1/2 fruit.

    The thing that shocks me is that it seems like I don’t feed Michael that much compared to what I see other moms post and yet the kid is such a hoss. He’s still getting a lot of breastmilk, but it still seems like that kid just gains no matter what. I really hope that he doesn’t have a weight problem.

  9. Oh, and my mom gave me this “I can’t believe that you endanger your child like that!” look the other day when I told her that we don’t peel his grapes and just cut them into small pieces. What kind of monster am I? πŸ˜›

  10. it was summer when my nephew first started walking and the only time he would do it is if he was holding on to the hose. i guess it gave him security, sort of made him feel like it was helping him.
    if it makes you feel any better, i think birdie is eating better than louise, it’s really hard to get her to eat. she hates sitting in her high chair. the best i can do is just lay out pieces of food and let her cruise by and eat pieces of it now and then. or if i’m eating something she ususally wants whatever it is (too bad she can’t have all the crap i eat πŸ™‚

  11. Yay for first steps! Baby bird is growing up! πŸ™‚

  12. Wanted to let you know that I gave Peter some Fig Neuman’s and he loved them. They are nice and moist. MUCH better than a fig newton. He did mash quite a bit into his ear.

  13. Oh my goodness, thank you for this post. Everything about beginning finger foods gives me major anxiety and I don’t know why. Seeing it broken down so specifically like this helps tremendously.


Leave a Reply

Categories

