Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | October 17, 2010

refusing bottles part 2

Thank you guys so much for the suggestions. Nothing is working still. I think I’m going to stop pushing it for a few days and retry whole milk in a sippy cup then.

Now that I’ve been thinking more about it, it might not have been as sudden a refusal as I thought. My husband has been gone on a couple of business trips over the past two weeks. He was gone for 6 days, then home for a few days, then gone another 3 days. Over that time, I probably gave her fewer bottles and smaller amounts, because she was only with me, and I likely nursed her more. He usually gave her the night time bottle, and she would take an additional 4 to 6 ounces from him, but while he was gone, she would be almost asleep from nursing and only take an ounce or two from the bottle. While the all out refusal was sudden, maybe she really had decreased the amount of formula she was getting over the previous week or two. I wish I had paid more attention to how much she took in bottles those weeks.

I started Reglan again, and so far I haven’t had a blocked duct and I don’t know if my supply has increased at all . But, I also feel like my breasts aren’t really getting very full anymore, which I know is supposed to be normal, but also is unsettling. She doesn’t take long to nurse anymore (maybe 4 to 5 minutes a side). Maybe she is really efficient, or maybe there just isn’t a whole lot of milk.

I have been giving her some yogurt, which she likes if I mix fruit in with it. I tried making her oatmeal cereal with whole milk and she refused it. I offered her avocado tonight again. Previously she hated it, and tonight she wouldn’t eat it mashed alone, only if I mixed some sweet potato in. I cut up some small pieces and put them on her tray and she did end up eating a few small pieces but didn’t seem thrilled about it.

I am trying not to make myself crazy about this. She is eating a pretty good amount of solids. I would feel better if she would accept whole milk at this point. What do you do if your kid refuses milk of all kinds? How would I make sure she gets enough protein?

Responses

  1. There are plenty of ways to get protein and calcium without milk. Broccoli has a lot of calcium in it, and for protein there is meat and cheese. They even have bread now with double protein in it. She is old enough for scrambled egg yolks too. We are very lucky, Peter has eaten everything we have given him and wants more. Although we tried him on yogurt last night and he puked it all up and his face got rashy, so we are backing off the dairy till nine months.

  2. We never gave our kids milk. You can get protein from other sources. Are you offering the breast more often?

  3. I don’t know much about protein for babies but I do know that I have been a vegetarian for 20 years and didn’t consume any milk for years (and now only with cereal). I’m also a lousy vegetarian in that I tend not to like any “weird” foods, but I’ve always gotten enough protein from cheese, yogurt, peanut butter, etc. Birdie will be just fine even if she never likes milk.

    And as to nursing, babies get very efficient – it’s entirely possible she’s taking in 6-8 ounces nursing 4-5 minutes per side. It seems unbelievable when you think back to the days of 25+ minutes a side but they really do get good about it.

  4. have you talked to her pediatrician about this?

  5. my kiddos nurse only 4 minutes total. πŸ™‚ i have just had to let it go. they’re growing, so i’m trying not to be too anxious about it.

    we did cheese for protein. also ground turkey mixed with sweet potato (gerber variety–i wasn’t keen on grinding up turkey myself, lol).

    birdie sounds like she’s doing great! it might be something good to bring up at your next well visit, though πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

