Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 25, 2010

family

Last Tuesday evening, S and I took Birdie to an outdoor museum of sorts. We walked along the paths with Birdie happily babbling “da da da da da da ba gee” then squeals. It was a very nice evening. The heat and humidity had finally broke after weeks and weeks of miserableness. There was a breeze. It almost felt cold.

We walked past this particular sculpture and this lady was directing her two children to go stand in front of it for a picture. I heard her say “Go stand over by that family.”

Family.

It hit me. We are a family. It felt so odd and wonderful to hear a stranger call us a family.

We walked a few steps, and then S turned to me and shyly said “She called us a family!”

He felt it too.

It was seriously one of the happiest moments in my life. I felt so lucky and thankful. Our fertility clinic is less than a mile away from the spot we were standing. Two years ago, I had just had my HSG and we had gotten the bad news about the first semen analysis. Now here we were, walking on this lovely evening, apparently a family.

I don’t mean to imply at all that family = mom + dad + baby. Families come in all shapes and sizes and numbers and configurations. I felt like we were a family before Birdie – just me, S, and the two cats. However,  we live in a very conservative, religious area where the idea of family is more rigid and traditional. Is it wrong that it felt surprisingly good to have our little family validated by a typical midwestern conservative woman?

Responses

  1. the weather is soooooo much better now, isn’t it?? we actually took blankets on a walk with the kids the other day. 🙂

    ….we should try to make it out there to that “outdoor museum” 🙂 we could hook up. with football season coming up my guess is that it would be next spring, though 😦

    yay for families!!!

    xx

  2. What an awesome moment! congratulations, ya’ll are a wonderful FAMILY!! 🙂

  3. I enjoy picking M up from daycare everyday and hearing someone say, “Michael’s Mommy is here!” when I walk in the door.

    Congrats on the family!

  4. Not wrong at all/ I’d have been thrilled too.

  5. Not wrong at all- I totally get that.

    I think to most people, they just see me and A as a “unit” or a “couple”, and not a “family”.

    Thanks for this post, it’s given me pause to think about our perception too.

  6. meijer gardens? i’m glad you got to have one of those warm fuzzy moments 🙂
    i haven’t sent a picture of louise to dr. young’s office yet, i am thinking of having a onesie made that says “made possible by the fertility center,” and sending them a picture of her wearing it.

  7. Isn’t it wonderful? I hear ya!

  8. I think it’s just lovely to hear confirmed that you’re a family as you want yours to be (or for a start).

    (Arrived here from the Crème de la Crème list.)

  9. I found you by way of Crème de la Crème. We had one of those moments this past summer, too. Thank you for sharing the joy and wonder of yours here.

  10. I know JUST what you mean. I felt the same way the first few times people responded to Eggbert and me in a normal way in public. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying your new life.


Leave a Reply

Categories

