Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 14, 2010

my first cold with a baby

I caught my husband’s cold and have been sick all week. Sore throat, snotty, sneezy, coughy, yuck. And I can’t take my beloved Nyquil. This is my first sickness in a long time that I haven’t taken all manner of drugs to ease the symptoms, and I have to say that it sucks!

You know what else sucks? Having to take care of a teething baby at the same time, and a husband who still has a cough from his cold last week, and a cat that has been throwing up hairballs in new and inventive places. During these hard days, I find myself whining and complaining, then realizing that I should shut the hell up because we are lucky to have Birdie at all. We seem to be moving in the right direction now. Birdie is back to sleeping fairly well (she only got up once last night, at 5am!), and S and I are starting to feel better. It has been rough though, and we have had no help. MIL has been visiting her other grandchild this past week, and FIL doesn’t want to catch our colds. I wish my mom or aunt or sister lived near us. At times, I was just desperate for someone to entertain Birdie so I could take an hour long nap.

The one good thing in all of this is that somehow, Birdie has not bit me with her sharp new little tooth while nursing. The bad thing is that my supply is down. Way down. I don’t know if it is because I have been sick and it will come back up, or if it is more of a permanent decline. She has been getting about half of her feedings from formula. I feel mostly okay about it, although sometimes I feel panicky and want to bust out the fenugreek or reglan.

Our house is a complete disaster, which is probably what one should expect when they have had two weeks like we have had. I look around and don’t even know how to begin, nor do I have the energy yet, so I sit on the floor  and play with Birdie and avoid the massive cleanup that needs to be done. There is so much laundry to be done – at least one load of Birdie’s clothes, one or two of mine, at least 2 of my husbands, a load of towels and sheets, and a load of cat bedding (our cat threw up in 3, yes 3 of his cat beds). We are going through bottles like crazy, so I need to wash and sterilize all of our bottles. Baby toys are strewn all across the living and dining room. Every square inch of kitchen counter space is cluttered with crap. The entire house needs vacuuming. Ugh. I would be horrified if ANYONE came by our house right now. Hopefully S and I can slowly tackle most of it this weekend.

Responses

  1. Hope you both regain your energy very soon. Sounds miserable!

  2. IAMS weight control and hairball prevention has really cut down on the barf , along with giving them wet food. If the barf looks like a big tube of barely digested cat chow, your cat is not getting enough water and the wet food will help. Now, instead of three cats puking each day, it happens maybe once a week.

  3. Sorry about the cold. I’ve actually had a couple already, usually I get them from M. I don’t like having them, but I wonder if it help him get over his colds faster after I catch it. But I worry so much about my supply that I avoid taking anything until I feel like death is coming for me. If you are taking much sudafed or anti-inflammatories it could be the cause of your supply drop and you might switch to benadryl and tylenol except for when you need the good stuff. If you have the strength, try to get Birdie to take more feedings from you and use a little less formula to get your supply back up… it could take a week but I think you should be able to recover most of it.

    Don’t worry about the house work. It can wait.

    M hasn’t got me with his new tooth, yet, either. But sometimes I think it rubs a little. I can deal, but one thing that has disappointed me about nursing is that pain is never too far away.

  4. Petey has been CHOMPING on me with his GUMS OF PAIN.

  5. Oh, feel better soon!

  6. Bless your heart, I’m so sorry you’re feeling so bad. And so overwhelmed! The cats can mess up a house faster than my husband, and that’s a feat! I hope you all start feeling better soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

