Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 6, 2010

first tooth

Birdie cut her first tooth on Sunday. The poor baby has been miserable, and no one is sleeping. This has been the worst week since the first month. The worst part is that she has been terribly congested and she coughs and chokes at night. We tried having her sleep in the swing and in her bouncy seat instead of flat in the crib, but she still wakes up every 20-30 minutes. I got a nosefrida, but she HATES it when we use it, so we mostly just use saline drops and steamy bathroom time to help with the stuffed up nose. Does anyone have any tips for using the nose frida? I can get a good amount of stuff out of her nose, but it takes 2 people holding her down, and more screaming than even shots have ever caused.

Last night was a little better (she slept for 2 hours at one point), so perhaps we are on the upswing. We took her to the doctor on Wednesday just to make sure she didn’t have an ear infection. She doesn’t. The doctor thinks it is a combination of allergies and teething.

Breastfeeding is scary now! She hasn’t bit me yet, but I am so afraid of the first time she tries. That thing is sharp as a knife! Speaking of breastfeeding, she is getting probably 1/3 of her feedings from formula now. I’m feeling a lot better about it now. I haven’t had a blocked duct in weeks. She is gaining weight. At 7 1/2 months, she is almost 17 pounds and is 28.5 inches.

Responses

  1. Peter hates the nosefrida too, but I found the best way was to use saline then use the nosefrida then saline then feed him. the saline will actually loosen it up enough for birdie to swallow and cough it up.

  2. No help with the nosefrida. We have a similar device and Colby hates it too. When he’s congested I find that we both get more sleep when I sleep with him propped up on me while I’m propped up on the couch… I hold on tight and we get some sleep.

  3. Well, no one likes their snot sucked out but Nosefrida works so well and quickly that it’s worth the struggle. Saline drops first are good and believe it or not, your baby will get used to it, mine did! Keep using it, it has kept my kids out of the doctor’s office.

  4. 1 down… 19 to go. Ugg.

    M hate his nose frida too. BUT, when he is really stuffy, he let’s me do it, no fussing. He knows it makes him feel better. So I have kinda taken that cue and been less zealous in using it if he doesn’t want me to. I like doing it more often because when I was doing it that frequently he wasn’t getting ear infections. Now that I do it less often… ear infections. I’m not sure that I can entirely blame not cleanout out his sinuses as well, but I think it does help prevent them.

    I usually do it by myself with him on the changer. I use the simply baby saline first, then suck. It’s not easy and takes a lot of patience. I saw a youtube video of a mom sitting on the floor holding her child’s head with one arm and wrapping her leg around his lower half and it seemed like a good position if things ever get to that point. But I agree with the PP, it works so well, it’s worth the fuss.

    Hopefully you all get a little break from awhile.

  5. Oh and the biting thing… try not to worry about it too much. If she’s going to do it, she’s going to do it and hopefully it won’t be too bad. Now that it’s happened to me, I’m just trying to be more alert and know when to take him off. And he hasn’t done it to me again since the other day.

  6. Aww – first tooth ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Wow, she’s getting so big! First tooth is a big thing. I’d be scared of it too ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

