Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | May 18, 2010

my solution to the problem

Apparently  my solution to the problem is to throw money at it. After all of your helpful suggestions, I bought or ordered all kinds of things to help with the travel situation. (Thank you so much for the comments, by the way. I feel a lot better about the plane trip now).

I already had a bebe au lait nursing cover, but she hates having things over her head, so I ordered a Baby Bond nursing cover, at Amanda‘s suggestion. It hasn’t arrived yet, but if that works better for Birdie because she doesn’t have anything covering her head, that will be great. I also ordered a nursing necklace, Teething Bling, at the suggestion of Missing One. That came yesterday and it is great. Birdie plays with it (mostly tugging on the cord) while she nurses now instead of thrashing her arms and scratching my chest. I had no idea something like that existed!

I also found a travel My Brest Friend nursing pillow! It is inflatable and packs up pretty small. I’m excited about that because it is so similar to what we use at home everyday. I may have to inflate it and deflate it on every leg of the trip, but if it helps, who cares.

Birdie does not particularly care for the Baby Bjorn. 10-15 minutes in it and she starts fussing. I bought a ring sling a few weeks ago and I have been trying to get her used to it. She is not thrilled about it either. I don’t think she likes being all scrunched up. I will probably bring the sling anyway for using on the plane or in the airport for short periods. It may come in handy somehow.

I have seriously thought about buying a snap and go stroller base, or even the Maclaren Easy Traveller stroller base, which folds up crazy small, but that’s another $60-$80 and we would probably only use it on a couple of trips. I thought about buying a more expensive umbrella stroller than what I thought I would buy in the future, one that accepts infant seats. The Maclaren Techno XLR and the Peg Perego Si are the only umbrella strollers I found that do. The problem is they are only slightly lighter weight than my Chicco Cortina, and they are wickedly expensive. Right now I am leaning towards just dealing with the Cortina.

Sadly, craiglist is pretty shitty in my neck of the woods. The only things people are selling are seriously crappy old baby items from like ten or fifteen years ago. I’m not sure why. I used to live in a part of the country where craigslist is so much more active and full of good stuff. I think the problem is that I now live in a midwestern town full of baby machine  stay at home moms, and by the time their 4th kid has used the stuff, it’s trashed. There is a baby consignment store across town that I want to check out, but chances are, they won’t have the particular things that I’m looking for.

I’m also wondering about our car seat base. I know that our Chicco Keyfit 30 infant seat can be installed in a car without the base, but it looks like a bit of a pain in the ass. I’m going to be there for 10 days, doing plenty of short trips. Wrestling with the car seat each time to make sure the seat belt is tight enough is not going to be fun. But, neither is carting along yet another piece of baby gear. But, its also a safety thing. I suppose I could just buy a base out there and leave it at my mom’s, and when we are all done with it, maybe my sister can sell it on craigslist or something. Ugh.This trip is starting to become ridiculously expensive, and I’m not even renting a car or staying in a hotel!

Anyhow, my aunt arrives in a few days. I’ve made lists and checked them over and I will try to do a dry run of packing the suitcase and backpack and diaper bag before we go.

Responses

  1. i’ve never seen the teething bling before. t pinches me repeatedly while nursing, i have bruises everywhere. i might have to give it a try! lol.

    so jealous of where you get to go. it was just about a year ago that i was out there 🙂

    xoxo

  2. You sucked me in and I bought teething bling too!
    We took our car seat without the base because it would have been too much for me to take on the train. Was easy to install the chicco without it (at least I hope I did it right!)

  3. BIRD I am dying. I found the CUTEST GIRL SOCKS EVER. You need to buy them, or lie to me and SAY you bought them. I am tempted to buy them myself for no good reason. http://www.trumpette.com/maryjane-newborn-booties.html

    http://www.trumpette.com/maryjane-tights.html

    They are the cutest things EVER.

  4. i just ordered chewable jewels necklace for louise… well, for me to wear and louise to play with.

    i went to a couple of consignement shops in gr when i was pregnant, i was NOT impressed, i wish i could remember what they were called so i could tell you not to bother if the one you are going to happens to be one of the ones we went to, buuuuuut i can’t, i’m sure there are tons of them there though.

    i’ve been contemplating our upcoming trip wondering how it’s all going to work, i guess i’ll have to check louise’s carseat (great, i’m going to spend $60 checking luggage/carseat) and buy a carseat base when i get to bozeman. actually, i guess i’ll have to have one sent there so my mom can have it in the car when she comes to get us. i was worried about louise crying because if the pressure change, but someone gave me the good idea to give her a bottle while ascending, that should help a lot.

  5. I wish I had something to offer other than a huge good luck! I feel like you’re a pioneer, off exploring unknown lands for the rest of us…I know everything will go smoothly!

    Do you have a parents’ network in your area at all? I posted something on the list serv for mine about a snap and go and ended up with two free ones…. Probably a long shot but just thought I’d mention it.

  6. a new produc Chicco Cortina Together Double Stroller


Leave a Reply

Categories

