Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | March 8, 2010

emerging

It has been a rough couple of weeks battling the intraductal thrush infection. I am finally starting to feel better after a week of taking diflucan. The excruciating pain has eased and is now only partly awful. The first thirty seconds of nursing her on my right side still hurts, and what is weirdest is that after I am done feeding her, I have this burning sensation deep in the breast tissue. It is getting better though.

In my last post I went off about breastfeeding and how determined I am to make it work. I want to make it really clear though that I don’t mean anything bad about women who use formula. Breastfeeding can be really hard, and I have been very tempted to stop because of the pain (although weaning wouldn’t stop the thrush). I think that S would prefer that I stop, because he does not like to see me in such discomfort. I am stubborn though, and I do not want to give up.

Baby Bird got her 2 month vaccinations last week. In talking with her doctor, we decided to delay some of them, so we only ended up doing one combined shot and an oral vaccine, so she only got poked once. It was sad though. She was more upset about the cold stethoscope than the shot. She did calm down pretty quickly once I nursed her. S had to go out of town the next day on a trip for work, and I was dreading it because I didn’t know how she would respond to the vaccinations. S thought I was worrying overย  nothing. Of course she was fine for the first 24 hours, until he left, at which point the crying began. Hours of fussing and crying. Finally she passed out and slept for 7 hours. It was a pretty miserable 48 hours, but now she is back to her happy, smiley, cooey self.

The house is still a mess, and I am still in maternity pants (seriously, how am I going to get rid of some of this weight around my midsection so I can wear normal jeans again?), but the thank yous and announcements are done, and there has been progress on the intimacy front (thank goodness because I kept having dreams that S took a mistress and let her live in our house). I still have no idea what I’m doing on most days, but Birdie is steadily emerging from immature newborn to smiley interactive baby. The smiles and soft noises are so precious. She is less flaily with the arms. She still hates tummy time, but she likes looking and smiling at that baby in the mirror.

We have had 6 straight days of sunshine, which has helped my mood tremendously. It is still cold (in the 40’s), and there is still some snow on the ground, but the sun has reminded us that spring is coming. The sidewalks are mostly clear, so we took her on her first stroller walk around the neighborhood yesterday. She was very quiet and alert.

My mom is coming tomorrow to visit for a week. She is very excited to finally get to see the baby. I hope that we can get along and not get on each others nerves.

Responses

  1. I am glad you are finally healing. And Baby Bird is just as precious as can be.

  2. My goodness, she is SO adorable! I love the picture!

  3. I think BFing is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. So I really sympathize with mothers that tried it and decided to go to formula… it’s just that hard.

    I don’t know if your pain during those first 30 sec is from the yeast or latch issues, but if it could be from latch issues, please go see a lactation consultant or LLL leader ASAP. I was putting up with pain during stimulation too knowing it would get better quickly, but really I was just making things worse and causing myself pain that I shouldn’t have. I hated doing it at first, but if the pain is still there after 2 seconds, break that latch and try again. I know my husband hated seeing me in that pain too… I’d cry out it hurt so bad, he couldn’t even be in the room. But it shouldn’t have been that way and it took a lot of help to get me to realize that. I hope that clearing up the yeast helps out, but seeing someone in the meanwhile can’t hurt.

  4. She’s such a cutie! Glad to hear you’ve got a happy smiley baby, and that you’re seeing some action again (I’ve had none in over a year, and DH was not impressed with my suggestion that we could go for it to bring on labour).
    Thanks so much for the comment on my blog and reassuring me that I’m not the only one driven nuts by mothers and food stuff. How can I be so greedy and mean and begrudge her her food? But seriously, for a woman who’s obese (and a former RN), who I’d like to have around for a lot longer, does she have to eat all that crap? It feels like it’s one thing for me and DH to eat some unhealthy high-cal stuff, since (at least when not pregnant), both of us have BMIs under 20. But if I had weight issues, I really would ramp up my willpower and minimize the crap eating!
    Hope your mother drives you less nuts than mine can me! She asked if she should go home and come back when labour hits a couple days ago, and I didn’t jump right on it. Today she called a neighbour to make sure they knew she wasn’t home yet and should check on her mail occasionally, and said to her “she wanted me to stay till the baby arrives” – which I definitely didn’t say either. Anyhow, I’m hoping there’s some action here sometime soon, and that you guys have a nice peaceful visit too!

  5. She’s just beautiful! I love, love, love the colorful hat! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. I really want to get to breastfeed some day, too. And I’m near as stubborn as you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. She is so beautiful!! I miss talking to you…let me know if you ever have time for a chat! Have a good weekend!

  7. seriously. that sun was just what we needed in these parts, you know? you can only take gray and drab for so long before you start to lose it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    baby bird looks sooooo cute. we took the kiddos for a walk yesterday and they stayed awake the whole time. how crazy. they were just looking around at everything. funny how better weather makes everyone “reset”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

