Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | December 20, 2009

39 weeks and a plan

Thank you for all of the responses to my bikini area grooming questions! It was also great to hear from the medical professionals that they don’t care one bit about what we do down there. I didn’t end up calling the waxing place. I just did the best I could and that will have to be good enough. I definitely have less anxiety about it now, thanks to all your comments!

So, we now have a plan. If I don’t go into labor beforehand, I will go in Tuesday night to start the induction process. At my appointment on Friday, I was just a fingertip dilated and not really thinned out, so she wanted to wait and check me again on Monday. Since next week is a crazy holiday week, my ob said she would call and check into setting a date so that we’d have a backup plan. I went and sat for the NST (baby Bird’s heart rate looked great), and she came in to check on me and gave me a post it note that said to go in Tuesday night. They will give me something to ripen my cervix, and hopefully I’ll have the baby sometime Wednesday.

I’m relieved to have a plan and an end in sight. I’m also a bit sad to be ending this part of the journey. I still can’t believe it’s real, and that in a few days I won’t have this baby moving around in my belly anymore. I still have a whole huge list of things I want to do to clean up the house and be ready, but I have no energy or motivation. All I want to do is sleep, sleep, sleep.

Responses

  1. YAAA, how exciting a little miracle before Christmas. Good luck to you and can’t wait to hear all the good stuff and see pictures. You will do great so don’t even worry.

    Keep us posted. Merry Christmas

  2. Wow! Tuesday, as in a couple days from now?! Oh wow, you are up for a wild week.

    This is exciting, keep us posted if you get a chance!

  3. Thanks for the update! I’ve been checking like a crazy person to see if you had posted!! I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to hear the birth story. Prayers and hugs full of peace and joy to you as you move forward!

  4. I am SO excited for you! I’ll be thinking of you this week and wishing you a super smooth and pain-free (okay, as pain-free as possible) delivery! Soon you will be holding your little darling — so amazing!

  5. Woohoo Bird! Merry Christmas! Also, yikes. Thank goodness it will be before the new year so you don’t have to deal with insurance b.s. If my vote counts, I say SLEEP.

  6. i totally get you about the end of the journey. after i had the babies i felt weird about how it had all happened. they were so early. i didn’t have time to think, “this is the last time i will feel them move/be pregnant/x.y.z”. i definitely felt a sense of loss. i’m just glad you have a plan šŸ™‚

    and i’m super excited to hear about what happens next!!!!!!

    xoxo

  7. Good luck with the induction tomorrow! Wishing a smooth labour and delivery. šŸ™‚

  8. good luck tonight!!! I’m glad you asked The Question… I’ve always been curious šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

