Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | November 2, 2009

last road trip for a while

Thank you guys for your supportive comments on my last post! I think I really needed to vent. As of now, we are still going with the name we like. The more I think about it, the more pissed I get. But, you know, it’s really not worth the energy. I’m trying to let it go and not care what anyone thinks about us using the same name. Somehow I will let the people close to us know the story behind it.

So on to a new topic. S and I are on a trip. Our last trip alone. We like to go on road trips and see new places, and that will definitely get more difficult with a little one. This trip that S planned is particularly ambitious. We will be driving a little under 3000 miles in 8 days and going to a number of different states/national parks/monuments/museums. I know what you must be thinking. At 32 weeks, my bladder has about the capacity of an apricot. As much as I love going places, I have been dreading that part. Today we drove just over 500 miles and we stopped for bathrooms at least 8 times. We saw several interesting places today though, and I napped here and there on the drive. I made sure to drink plenty of water and have lots of snacks with us. I feel pretty good today. We’ll see how I do on subsequent days in the car.

 

Responses

  1. when i was 32 wks my dh & i drove down to san diego and saw everything there. it was the best idea ever! 🙂 Enjoy your trip!!

  2. You are a better woman than I. I’m refusing to go to my SIL’s for Thanksgiving at 31 weeks…and they only live 60 miles away:)

  3. I hope your trip is going well! If you can, keep us all updated. I think you should definitely go with your name – not only did you choose it first, but you had tried to make it clear to your aunt that it was your pick, so you get to use it! 😀

    I’ve nominated you for an award on my blog: http://babythornburgh.wordpress.com/2009/11/02/awards/

  4. Awesome 🙂 enjoy the trip!!! Sorry about the bladder though, lol. I’m sure it will be all the more memorable though, right?

  5. I love road trips! What a great idea!

    I’m so glad you decided to stick with the name you like. I can’t tell you how many Chris’s there were growing up,and now all of them have named their kids Ryan. Although your cousin is an ass for taking the name when they knew, I’m glad you’re sticking with what you love.

    The comment in the glucose tolerance test post about cosidering eating your lip balm just cracked me up! So glad you survived it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

