Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | October 29, 2009

no gestational diabetes

I passed the 3 hour test! Yay! Before my appointment, I got a call from my OB’s partner with the results. She gave me some shit about the MFM that I saw, basically a “see I told you what he would say about metformin” thing. I had to put on my assertive voice and say “Yes, but I also spoke with Dr. Z from that same office about it and she is more open minded about metformin and has had patients stay on it before, and she is leaving it up to me. She just wanted to make sure I was aware of the potential risks, and I completely understand that. So, I will be staying on metformin.”

My fasting level was 78, 1 hour was 140, 2 hour was 130, and 3 hour was 78 again.

She said my results were well below the cutoff for GD, but that since I took the test while on metformin, I will have to stay on metformin. Um yeah, that’s what I just told you, lady! She asked if I had a home glucose meter and I said no, but I’d be happy to start checking it if they would give me a prescription for one. She suggested that in a month that they will have me eat two hours before my next appointment and that in the office they will check my blood sugar.

My actual appointment later today went well. I lost 3 pounds since my last appointment two weeks ago, which is good because my weight was frighteningly up at that appointment. I’m blaming it on water retention and the change in weather requiring a shift from light summer skirts to heavy jeans. So at almost 32 weeks I have gained about 22-23 pounds. I had hoped to keep it to 25 pounds for the entire pregnancy, but with 8 weeks to go, I doubt that is going to happen. Oh well. It could be a lot worse.

My regular OB spent a long time talking with me, which was nice. We talked about the metformin and my choice to stay on it. She thinks any benefit from the metformin has passed, but will let me stay on it if I want. I’m measuring a week and a half ahead. Baby’s heartbeat was 150. My blood pressure was fine. We discussed pain control options during delivery. She answered all of my questions and didn’t make me feel rushed. Overall it was a good appointment. I am relieved that I don’t have gestational diabetes. I am relieved that I feel okay about my doctor again. Now I can find something else to obsess about.

Responses

  1. Glad the test results were good, but too bad you had to sit though another dose judgmental advice from your dr.

    I have personally given up about worrying about my actual weight gain, as long as I feel that I’m doing the best I can the scale can kiss it. As long as everyone’s fine that’s what matters. So I think you are doing fine!

  2. Yay for the results 🙂 Sorry they were still trying to give you flack though at the other office.

  3. Everything sounds so good!! I’m very jealous of your weight gain. I was doing good until about a month ago. I’m blaming all of it on water retention.

    I’m so glad you don’t have GD. One less thing to worry about.

  4. Awesome results! Glad to hear!

    Mo


Leave a Reply

Categories

