Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | September 23, 2009

baby shower

Last week, I flew back to visit family for the baby shower that was being thrown for me. The shower itself was lovely. It was small – just very close family and friends, and there were no games (yay!). The baby got lots of stuff. So much stuff that it was overwhelming. Lots and lots and lots of clothes, and a good number of books. I’m very glad that I haven’t bought really any clothes, because I think this kid is set for the first six months. I have no idea how I am going to get all of this stuff home. I will have to ship a bunch of it. It was great to get to visit with everyone. I was afraid that I would feel awful being the center of attention, but it ended up being fine.

I was supposed to fly back home tonight, but due to a family crisis of sorts, I changed my flight and extended my trip by a week. I’m doing fine except for the stress, tiredness and heat. I don’t seem to be able to get more than 7 hours of sleep no matter what I do, and that is with getting up at least 4 times a night to pee. It was over 100 degrees today, and I was outside for part of the hottest part of the day, helping to facilitate the moving of furniture. I didn’t actually do any lifting, but I’m sore and my feet are killing me!  I feel bad complaining, because other people are doing the hard work, but I’m exhausted and I’m not getting any naps. Plus, I miss my husband. I miss my cats. I miss my bed and my shower and my food. I miss the coolness of the beginning of fall at home. At the same time, extending this visit allows me to spend some more last-visit-without-a-baby quality time with family and friends, and it is allowing me to be here to provide emotional support to someone I love very much.

The baby is moving a lot, and I am starting to look very pregnant. The belly is getting very firm and I can feel my skin stretching. I am 26 weeks and 5 days today, inching closer to the third trimester. I’m trying to keep up with reading blogs when I can, but I haven’t had uninterrupted internet time to comment. Please know that I am thinking of all of you guys and will catch up on commenting when I can.

Responses

  1. WOW!! You’re so luck to have a baby shower so early!

  2. Birds, I certainly hope you have your pillowcase with you.

    Maybe you could just put your feet up every few hours? You won’t be any help at all if you are broken.

    Don’t forget to drink your water! I am always miserable if I can’t sleep with Thunder. I am so happy you enjoyed your shower. Maybe post a picture of your haul when you get back?

  3. I’m glad the baby shower went well, and that you got lots of nice things for the baby. And it’s great you get to spend some last without baby time with the family.

    Now, get some rest girl! You’re making me exhausted reading about how exhausted you are. Hope you get to take it easy and get some naps in real soon.

  4. I’m so glad your shower was a good experience and you’re really soaking up the family time. 🙂

  5. This post reminds me of something my Uncle Rick once said…

    if a sweat shop factory had air conditioning would it still be called a sweat shop?


Leave a Reply

Categories

