Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | September 15, 2009

bargains and dreams

I try to save money where I can, so when I found out that a local baby store was having a one day sale, and I got an email for additional savings from 8-10am, I was excited. I had been considering buying this organic crib mattress, but was horrified at the price. I’d gone back and forth about it. Does it really matter? Is the organic stuff just hype? Baby Bargains says the $100 store brand mattresses are fine and that there is no proof that an organic mattress is any safer than a conventional one. Then again, babies spend so much time sleeping, and why not have them sleeping on something that doesn’t have potentially harmful fumes and chemicals off gassing for months? This mattress has organic cotton filling, no chemical fire retardants, no PVC or phthalates, has a waterproof food grade polyethylene cover and is made in the USA.  But baby stuff is expensive. I could put that extra money towards some other crap we think we need.

BRU carries it online, but I’d have to pay shipping (although now I see they currently have free shipping on this item, should any of you be interested). Then I thought to check the local high end baby store. They had it! In stock, and it was going to be on sale Saturday. I took it as a sign. Even though S and I stayed up until after 1:30am playing Beatles Rock Band, I dragged my ass out of bed at 7:30am to get to the store by 8am. I ended up saving nearly $100 on the mattress. It was already $60 off, and I got an additional 20% off by going to the early sale. While I would like to think that I got a bargain, it really just brought the excessive cost of the item down to a reasonable price that I could justify paying. I picked up some bagels and drove home with a crib mattress in the back of the car.

So, now we had all the pieces. All I needed to do was clear enough space in the baby’s room to set it up. Last night, with S cursing while I read the instructions, we set up the crib. It was a moment I never thought would happen. I had dreamed of this day, of preparing for a baby, for so long. Our cats explored the empty boxes while I handed pieces and tools to S, and I was overwhelmed with emotion. I couldn’t hide my tears. It took a bit longer to assemble than we thought it would, but by 11pm last night, we had a crib put together, with the damn organic mattress in it. It is beautiful. Absolutely beautiful.

Responses

  1. I cried when mine was up. It felt like such a big step!

  2. I’m just a lurker who’s been following your blog but I wanted to say that this such a sweet post. Made me tear up reading it! I’m so glad you’ve gotten to this place in your life and I’m hoping I get there someday too.

  3. A very sweet post 🙂 I am glad you got the mattress at a reasonable price, and got to experience the joy and awe of putting it together.

  4. Great deal on the mattress!

    I wanted to pass on a helpful link on cloth diapers. This website has laid out everything really nicely in several different posts and even videos. It really helped me make sense of the many options out there: http://simplemom.net/tag/cloth-diapering-101/

  5. you are such the bargain shopper. i’m so proud of you 🙂 i’m too lazy to sign up for news letters or coupons or whatnot over email. i really need to get on that!!

    yay for having all of the parts and moving in the right direction 🙂

    xoxo

  6. We need to see a picture, please! So excited for you (I got a tear in my eye reading this too…I can so relate).

  7. What a great post! Just goes to show how sweet IF makes every step of the pregnancy! Can’t wait to see pics of the new crib!


Leave a Reply

Categories

