Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | September 14, 2009

25 weeks

Thankfully I haven’t had any more of the bad cramping. I’ve been feeling the baby move a lot more, which is reassuring.

I’m not sure if I mentioned this before, but about two months ago, the maternity benefits coordinator for my health insurance called me, and in the process of talking with her, apparently my crazy came out (I told her about my anxiety due to the infertility and miscarriage), and she decided that I would qualify for “extra support” from a nurse that would come to our home once a month or so. It is covered by insurance, and does not cost me anything. For once, my insurance is doing something wonderful. Why can’t they have support like this for infertility? Or actual infertility coverage?

Anyhow, the nurse is great. People get referred to her for a variety of reasons, but she sees a lot of high risk moms, those having multiples, or those who have had losses. She seems to understand the anxiety (I’m assuming from having seen her share of tragedy), and she did a great job of calming me down. She is also a lactation consultant.

I just had the second home visit last Thursday. She brings a doppler, so I got to hear the heartbeat again. I told her about the cramping and decreased movement over the previous weekend, and she gave me some information about doing kick counts. After she left, I did some googling and some blog reading and found this very informative blog entry by a woman whose son was stillborn the day before his due date. One thing I found very interesting from babykickalliance.org is that “Fetal deaths do not happen suddenly. Studies show that 50% of unexplained stillbirths are associated with intrauterine growth restriction, where babies are not growing at an appropriate rate; thus there may be a window of opportunity for intervention.”

I went out and bought this ridiculous device for counting kicks. I can’t believe I spent $30 on this glorified timer, but it is kind of nifty. Basically, you push a button whenever you feel a kick, and it keeps track of how long it takes to get 10 kicks. You want to feel 10 kicks within two hours. Before this device, I would lose track of time and forget to tally the kicks, or lose focus and forget what I was doing. S spent the weekend mocking me. “How is this going to make our baby healthier?” he asked. I tried explaining about kick counts and how you want to get to know what is normal for your baby, so that you can detect sudden changes or decreases and get additional monitoring. It also just makes me feel better. He can laugh at me all he wants.

Responses

  1. I love it! Cheaper than a doppler, and worth it’s weight in gold in terms of peace of mind, a healthy baby!

  2. That’s pretty cool that someone actually visits you!

    I’ve looked at kick charts online (which are a free option of course) but I’m confused as to when to start doing those and the “rules” for doing them is really quite different from what I’ve read… I need someone to explain it to me other than Dr. Google… maybe now that I’ve had a couple weeks of semi regular movement I should start or maybe not until the 3rd trimester? I dunno. I should ask my doctor.

    The secretary here always had to do them and if she didn’t get a movement every so often, she was told she had to push and poke her baby until he gave her a kick. She says she was literally black and blue in the belly by them time she gave birth (but she’d already had a still birth and this one only had a two vessel cord, so their was extra concern).

  3. holy cow…you’ve totally freaked me out about kick counts now. I’m going to take mine much more seriously. I’ve tried to be somewhat relaxed about it (I do it but kind of randomly) so as not to let the crazy out…but maybe I need a little crazy.

    I think it’s awesome that you have a nurse who comes to visit. That would make me much more relaxed. And good for you that you went out and bought the device. Anything that gives you peace is worth it in my opinion.

  4. I became obsessed with kick counts last week. I try to pick the same time every day to do it. Actually, I do it twice a day. Once when I know he’s not that active and again when he usually is.

  5. Let him laugh, if it makes you feel better- and safer- who cares. Glad the nurse and insurance are working out awesome, too bad they didn’t when you were in the midst of treatment though- very true.

    Yay for 25 weeks ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. hmmmm….it’s so hard for me to do kick counts. it’s hard to determine who’s who and b/c of the placentas its hard to feel stuff! i’ll see them move on US and i can’t feel it.

    i’m gonna try harder now though ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo

  7. Good for you – sounds like a great way to spend $30, and you’re doing the right thing for your baby. Tough luck if DH laughs!

  8. I am so happy for you (and yes, jealous) that you have this nurse coming by…what service! You are really good at knowing and doing what you need to do to quell your anxiety, and you should let your husband laugh all he wants!

  9. That is freaking awesome. And twenty five weeks! YAY!

  10. The kick counter it too cool! And so is your insurance! Wow, a nurse just for your sanity! That’s awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

