Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | September 5, 2009

24 weeks

Today I am 24 weeks pregnant. I woke up this morning and said to S, “Hey, today is viability day!”  Of course, I know it’s not that simple. 25 weeks is probably a better guide, but viability is possible at 24 weeks, of course with huge risks of complications and disability. Still, it is an important milestone, and one for which I am so grateful to have reached. 24 weeks!

I am horribly behind in commenting because my laptop’s battery finally bit the dust a few days ago. I am typing this on my new laptop, that we just got today. My old laptop was very old and very slow, and while this new laptop is simple and comparatively a lot less expensive, it is soooo much faster and nicer. I don’t have to wait 15 minutes for it to start up! I can have as many tabs open as I want! I had all of the blogs I wanted to comment on opened in tabs on my old computer, and now I don’t have access to that, so I apologize if I haven’t commented lately. Of course, this was a terrible time to have to replace my aging laptop, with all these baby expenses coming up, but I cannot be without my internets.

We visited the in laws this afternoon and had dinner with them. Around 6pm I started getting these weird crampy feelings every few minutes that were quite painful, but only lasted maybe 10 seconds or so. I wasn’t sure if it was intestinal or uterine in nature. I know it’s possible to have Braxton-Hicks contractions at any point now, but what I was experiencing didn’t really fit the descriptions I had read about Braxton-Hicks. I didn’t say anything to S about them because I didn’t want to worry him, but they weren’t stopping. We left their house and drove home, and the cramps were getting more frequent. I had visions of having to go to the hospital. I had visions of the Universe shitting on me and laughing “Ha, and just this morning you thought you had passed some safe point?! There are no safe points!”  I hadn’t felt the baby move in many hours, which at this point, is somewhat typical, but also worrisome.

When we got home, I drank a lot of water and laid down on my left side for the next hour and a half. After laying down, the cramps stopped, and I felt some kicks. I don’t know if maybe I did too much today, or if I was just dehydrated or what, but I haven’t had any cramps for several hours. I’m so glad they stopped, but it was rather scary. Is this normal?

Responses

  1. Yay for 24 weeks!

    That is scary- super glad they stopped. I would go to the hospital and get checked out if they start again, but I am super paranoid about anything at all.

  2. Its ironic, that I stumbled upon your site! 🙂 I’m exactly 24 weeks today as well. I’m having a lil trouble convincing my OB that my due date is Dec 25th, she insists its the 29th! Whatever, I used fertility drugs, I know what day I gave myself the ovidril, and what nights we had timed intercourse. I know when I started the progesterone suppositories and lord knows, there was no way we were having intercourse 4 days later! lmao

    So, anyway, back to why I’m commenting on this post. The past couple of days I’ve had horrible cramping pains in my lower stomach, just above the pelvic line. They were on the left a few nights ago, and the right today. At my appt yesterday I mentioned it, my OB says its LIGAMENTS stretching. Which is what the OB Nurses at work said as well. But its still soooo scary!

    I remember the first 20 weeks, being a nervous wreck the 4 wks in between appointments, until that next appointment when I got to hear the babies heartbeat on the doppler. At 18 weeks I started noticing small flutters & a popcorn sensation, but it was few & far between. not enough to reassure me. The past 3 weeks he’s turned into an NFL kicker! lol If I lean forward he kicks me, if I lay down and set the remote on my belly, he kicks under it! lol He’s extremely picky about anything invading his space.

    I’m so glad I found your page 🙂 I’ll be checking back to see how you’re doing 🙂 Please feel free to check out my page.

    Best Wishes, try not to stress about things. Its not good for us! 🙂 Lord knows, I need to take my own advice!

    Christina

  3. Hmm, I have read other blogs where that happens from dehydration. Maybe call the ob just to feel better?

  4. Dehydration will make you cramp like nobody’s business. I had the same thing around 20 weeks and after i drank about 32 oz of water, it all went away. Also, round ligament pain can also be the cause of a lot of pain. But it’s mainly lower abdomen on either side. Lots of sharp pains. And don’t forget gas. One time, I had gas so bad, I swore they were contractions!

  5. Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.

  6. 🙂 i totally agree with the other gals. you need to call if it happens again. and i would mention it at the next apt. when in doubt, drink water and lay down 🙂

    yea for 24 wks!!!

  7. Yay for 24 weeks! Last Tuesday I woke up and could hardly walk, I had such bad pain/cramping down low in my abdomen. My books all said it was round ligament pain, and to just rest. I spent the day working from my couch and by the next day I felt better. I tend to think we’re just getting further along and bigger and more and more strange pains to come….but don’t hesitate to go to the doctor if you think you need to.

    Hope you have a great time at your shower! I have to go register too, because my friend wants to put the info on a shower invite for November. Oy!

  8. Congrats on the 24 weeks, but the scary cramping stuff sucks. It’s probably something someone already said, but when it’s happening to you it’s still scary.

    And even though their aren’t really any safety points, the flip side of that is how much stronger and more prepared for the world you can imagine your baby being every day from here on out.

  9. YAY for 24 weeks!! I would continue to drink water to keep yourself hydrated and take it easy if the cramping gets going again, but it sounds like your body is just changing due to the growing baby!!!

    Your old computer sounds like mine. I think it is so time for us to get another one. It takes 15 minutes to start up. It keeps telling me that I need to delete stuff to make more room, but there is room on it. I don’t know what we will do. What kind of computer did you get?

  10. Yay for viability day! Congrats on the 24 weeks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

