Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 31, 2009

buying things

Thank you guys for the suggestions about the foot rubs. I’m glad to know that my husband is not the only one who hates lotion (oh the horrible slime!). I did go buy some disposable gloves to see if that might be a solution, but all I could find were crappy “one size fits most” and they wouldn’t even fit my hands, let alone my husband’s huge hands. Where can I find good quality non powdery, non-terribly-smelling gloves that will fit a guy? My mom is a nurse and used to be able to bring some of those good blue ones home from work, but now I live across the country and I can’t find any in stores. I suppose I should just order some on the internet.

He will give me “dry” foot rubs, but between my terribly dry feet and his terribly dry hands, it’s like two pieces of sandpaper rubbing together and isn’t remotely enjoyable. If I pre apply lotion, he can “tell” by the smell of even unscented lotion and complains. I liked the suggestion of making him pay for regular pedicures and massages instead.  I need to find a good place to go for a pedicure around here.

I have a confession to make. We have started buying some things, and it feels terrifying and great at the same time. We had decided on a crib a while ago, and it was on sale for a period of time and was going to take 10-12 weeks to order, so we figured okay, we’ll order it now, because we’ll save $75 and it won’t be here for a long time. That way we can get it all set up around 34-35 weeks. Well, when we went in to order it, they had just gotten an unexpected shipment of them in, and it was now available to pick up right away. We went ahead and bought it (because of the sale) but stalled a little while on picking it up. We finally picked it up last week and now the pieces are sitting in the guest room/soon to be nursery. I love the crib. It is simple and sturdy and safe, and it is the one that S and I could finally agree on. I swore that I wouldn’t buy anything before viability, but clearly that didn’t work out how I had planned.

For S’s birthday, his parents wanted to get him something fun. An electronic gadget or video game thing. S told them he didn’t need or want anything for himself (which is very true, he buys himself whatever he wants and so he has every gadget you could imagine), but would instead be happy to get something in preparation for the baby. They said no, it has to be for you and it has to be a “toy”. We went to Babies R Us one day with them and wandered around, just looking. They caught the baby stuff bug. They changed their mind and offered to buy the travel system for the baby (this, but in black and gray). So now, we also have a large box containing the car seat, base, and stroller sitting in our living room. I am glad they changed their mind, because baby shit is expensive, and of course the things we decide we want are not the cheapest.

For some reason, S had no trouble with bringing the crib home, while it made me so nervous I nearly threw up. Now he is the one who doesn’t want to open the box with the car seat and stroller. I think his parents really wanted to check it out and play with it, but S insisted on waiting a few more weeks, “in case something goes wrong”. Part of me is glad that he gets it, but part of me is worried that he isn’t being optimistic.

Responses

  1. Very cute crib and I’ve heard lots of good reviews of those chicco strollers.

    How about those food prep gloves (the ones that remind you of sandwich bags)?

    Originally, I wanted to wait until the 3rd trimester to buy baby stuff, but the thought of having all those expensive purchases looming out there kinda bothers me, so we have decided after we know the gender we will probably start. I just wish we could find a crib we like (actually we like a lot of stuff I see, but we are trying to match a bookcase and it’s tough).

  2. Buying baby stuff is definitely both exciting AND terrifying. I don’t think there’s any way around this except to keep doing what you’re doing…baby steps, so to speak.

  3. lol. i totally get this. our car seats and snap and go stroller are sitting in the mud room in boxes.

    our kid clothes are sitting in the laundry basket. yesterday i realized that i’m 32 weeks tomorrow and i need to get stuff together since this is bound to happen sooner or later 🙂

    i hope you find a place for pedis. it’s so nice. although i will have to say i feel like i need them like 2x/week to get the result i want…. of course i will never do that, but i wish that b would just rub them inbetween the pedis. come on. it can’t be *that bad*, right????

    xoxo

  4. (*hugs*) Scary, I’m sure.

  5. I totally understand! I almost hyperventilated the first time I went in BRU!! Even though I am about to be in the 3rd trimester on Friday, I just got paint for the nursery, and the crib arrived today. I feel……….nervous. I don’t know why! I haven’t gotten anything else for the baby. I still feel like I’m caught up in a strange dream!

  6. I haven’t bought anything yet, and I’m starting to panic. I think it’s time to take the plunge.

    I’m so glad that your in-laws bought the stroller rather than a new toy 🙂 One big ticket item out of the way!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

