Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 11, 2009

i think i may have found a new doctor

It has been pretty obvious that I have been unhappy with my obstetrician for a while. He is a nice enough man, and is likely a good doctor, but I just really didn’t like how he dismissed my concerns without really addressing them. I felt stupid every time I left his office. He was always running nearly an hour late. He did not seem to appreciate how hard it was to achieve this pregnancy. His nurse is a bitch, the office is gigantic and it was nearly impossible to talk to an actual person. The chance of my doctor actually delivering the baby was 1/14 (there are 16 doctors in the practice, but several don’t deliver babies anymore).

I have been looking into female OBs that take my insurance and are accepting new patients, and I called one office on Friday. The receptionist was very nice and helpful. “How about a meet and greet appointment on Monday afternoon?” she asked. Great! It turns out that her practice is like half a block away from my current doctor. It’s a small practice. She and one other female OB deliver babies and share call duties. She says she delivers 9o% of her own patients. They have two midwives in the office, and two doulas as well. They have two ultrasound technicians on staff. Apparently they deal with some infertility treatments there, so she was suitably impressed with our fertility ordeal. She understood what 3% morphology meant.

She seemed sympathetic to my anxieties with pregnancy after infertility and loss. She was knowledgeable about PCOS. She is okay with me staying on metformin and said that we could do more monitoring later on (she mentioned additional u/s and non stress tests), even if I don’t develop gestational diabetes, since she acknowledged that without the metformin, I would be much more likely to have ended up with GD. I liked pretty much everything she had to say. The office is not as fancy, but everyone I dealt with and observed interactions with was friendly.

I have my anatomy scan and 20 week OB appointment with my soon to be old doctor tomorrow. I will go to those appointments and then perhaps next week request my records to be transferred. I feel so much better now that I have an alternative doctor in mind.

Responses

  1. i’m so glad you decided to go and meet a new doctor. Honestly, you’ll be so much happier going to appts and u/s šŸ™‚ Plus you worked so hard to get here!! You don’t need any more stress or bs!!

  2. Good for you for finding a new doctor that you like better! Like Melissa said, you totally deserve a stress-free and wonderful experience through this pregnancy.

    I hope everything goes perfectly at the anatomy scan tomorrow! I was surprised at how long it was – it takes them a while to do all the measurements and look at the details. It’s heaven to see the baby for so long, but not-so-great to have to pee the entire time!

    Can’t wait to read your update….boy or girl!!!

  3. That is AWESOME! I am so happy for you. I am calling two other doctors today. I cannot decide who to go with.

  4. Wow, that sounds like OB heaven.

    Can’t wait to hear how the anatomy scan goes!

  5. Yay! I’m so glad you found someone you really like! Way to go, to stand up for yourself! Especially after all you’ve been through to get here.

  6. Good for you!

  7. Am so happy for you — I think having a doctor you’re comfortable with will definitely help.


Leave a Reply

Categories

