Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | July 29, 2009

glorious sleep

For the past month or two, I have not been sleeping so great. Getting up 3-4 times a night to pee makes deep sleep difficult. Fortunately, I have learned to stumble down the hall in the dark with the help of a couple of well placed nightlights without putting my glasses on. Actually falling asleep has been difficult too. My mind races for a good hour after lying down in bed before I either get up or exhaust myself. I tossed and turned trying to get comfortable. My back and hips hurt already.

That’s how things were until I met my new best friend:

pillow

Meet theย  Leachco Back ‘N Bellyย  Contoured Body Pillow. It has replaced the 3 pillows I used to have on all sides of me. I still use my tempurpedic head pillow, and I orient the pillow with the open side at the top. I got it in the mail from Amazon last Friday, and I have slept so much better. It is soooooo worth the $59 price tag. I was worried that it would be a waste of money, as I had already tried a pregnancy pillow that a friend had passed on to us. It was the Boppy total body pillow. That one didn’t work for me, I think because of my height (I’m 5’10”) and because I need to have something to put my arms around.

The Back ‘N Belly works great. There is no repositioning pillows when you turn over, which I do a lot. There is a bump in the middle on both sides that nicely cushions the tummy. The only negative thing I have to say is that the pillowcase material is not very soft, but I just put two king pillowcases on the ends, and I believe they sell extra pillowcases for it. Leachco also makes the Snoogle, which looked nice, but is only one sided. I’m glad I went with the U shaped one.

However, my cat is pissed. The pillow takes up a lot of space in the bed, which surprisingly doesn’t bug my husband too much, but it encroaches on my 18 pound Maine Coon’s former sleeping space. My big kitty likes to sleep next to me near my pillow, and stretch out along the edge of the bed. That edge space is now taken up by the gigantic new pillow. The first night I had the pillow, there was a lot of pissed off cat behavior. There was meowing and whining and scratching the blinds in the middle of the night. The next evening, I went up to bed, and I found big kitty sleeping, nestled inside the nook of the pillow that had been covered with a blanket. We shall see how the cat vs human pillow power struggle plays out.

Responses

  1. I am glad you are getting some sleep. I am getting up three times a night to pee. I am still comfortable enough.

    Our cats have free reign on the bed too.

  2. ๐Ÿ™‚ Those things have always looked super comfortable!

  3. I love my Snoogle too. The benefit to it being one-sided is that I don’t feel like I have to crawl over anything (except the dog!) to get out of bed to potty. And I’m a little shorter so I can kinda wrap the top and bottom around the open side and still get support if I’m sleeping on that side. This one looks absolutely cocoon-like–how wonderful! Glad you found something to help you sleep better!

  4. I just bought the Snoogle this weekend! I couldn’t take it anymore. This one looks very comfortable (I’m a little jealous ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  5. LOL, I liked that last line about the cat vs human pillow struggle. Too funny.

    Glad the pillow is helping you out.

  6. ๐Ÿ™‚ ha ha. my cat left the bed last month. she sleeps in the chair in the bedroom now. i swear she looks at me with an evil eye as she falls asleep. she’s so pissed that i use so many pillows. B has been trying to get me to get one of these, but i didn’t know if it was worth the money. i might have to give it a try ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Dude, do you know, Thunder is TWENTY POUNDS.

  8. just watch, kitty’s going to end up sleeping on TOP of YOU! Or DH. I turn a lot, too, and miss kitty used to sleep on DH’s side of the bed. Once he moved in, kitty just started sleeping on top of him. Works for everyone. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. That pillow looks heavenly. I am going to look into it! Hope you are getting better sleep.

  10. Here for Blogger Bingo!

    Wow, that is a big cat, 18 lbs! Our cats have certain spots on the bed that they prefer, so I can see where yours might not be too pleased about that giant (and very comfy looking, I must say) pillow taking over.


Leave a Reply

Categories

