Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | July 21, 2009

i survived the trip from hell

I made it back home! Things were a little rough at first, but the hot water heater got installed the second day I was there, and I ended up buying sheets and pillows. I could not have rescheduled the trip because it was a big milestone birthday for my mom, and we had a party for her. We got things cleaned up and the house looked decent for the party. It ended up being a good trip, but a busy one. I have a lot of sleep to catch up on.

It was the first time seeing most of my family since getting knocked up. It was good but also strange. Everyone seems most concerned with what we will end up naming the baby, and that is not something we have really even discussed yet. One person who knows a little about our IF (she guessed and another person close to us confirmed it without discussing it with me) made some comments to me. We were commiserating about morning sickness and she asked if I was on progesterone. I said yes and she went on and on about how she had to be on progesterone too to get pregnant and acted like it was the worst thing in the world that she almost had to “do” clomid.

I wasn’t about to share our full story with her. I kept my mouth shut and let her think whatever she wanted. It could have been an opportunity to provide information about fertility treatments, but I realized that I’m not ready to go there. Our path to get pregnant was fucked up and special (I can’t believe I am using that word) and miraculous. In the moment, it felt like it would have been devaluing our experience to share our intimate story with someone who probably wasn’t going to “get it”. I wasn’t sure how out we would be with our story. I had no idea what I would say if it came up. Apparently I am not ready to talk about it at this point.

I have so many blogs to catch up on. I don’t think my google reader has ever been this backed up. I am, however, extremely excited to see that Celia got her bfp while I was gone! I am so so so happy for her! Go wish her oodles of congratulations!

Responses

  1. I don’t blame you for not sharing about your IF… she’s definitely not part of the crowd that would appreciate it.

    I guess if it were a ‘normal’ pregnancy what color to paint the nursery and what to name the baby would be the biggest things on your mind… weird.

    Glad the trip went well (or as well as could be expected) and you’ve returned in one piece.

    You, me and Celia are suppose to take the flying unicorns out for a spin later and stop to let them take craps in the fertiles’ lawns. We should stop at that chick that almost had to take clomid place first.

  2. I thought I would tell everyone about how we got here. I definitely liked talking about my ovaries when I was cycling. Now I find that I feel it’s none of their business. I don’t want to share it with anyone.

    I’m glad you are home again. And happy that they got the hot water heater in…:)

  3. Ahhh, the name game. I get asked this question at least 5 times a day. I don’t know yet, C-Dub doensn’t know yet. And honestly, who cares. When I see him in my arms and he is healthy, then, he will have a name.

  4. I AM SO EXCITED THAT YOU ARE BACK BIRD!

    And yes, we will ride flying unicorns and fling poo at stupid fertiles.


Leave a Reply

Categories

