Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | May 18, 2009

“i’m so glad it’s not dead!”

I think I managed to horrify my RE when I said that to him today.

I was feeling okay and hopeful before the ultrasound today, until I got to the waiting room. Then my stomach turned itself all inside out. The Zofran I broke down and took this morning apparently doesn’t touch nausea due to worry. We waited a long time, with me eyeing the sink as a possible place to puke. Finally the RE and a resident came in to the ultrasound room. The resident did the wanding. The RE stood and pointed things out.

It looked bigger, so that was reassuring. But I couldn’t see the heart beating right away, so I was worried. Finally the RE gave the resident some guidance on getting a better picture, and then we could see that beautiful flutter. 170 bpm. CRL is 1.9cm, which should be about right for 8 1/2 weeks . We got to see it wiggling around. That was pretty amazing. The RE said our chance of miscarrying now is under 5%. So far, nothing bad has happened yet.

I asked him if he had any recommendations for OBs. I told him that I generally liked my ob/gyn, but that after all we have been through, I really want someone who gets it and understands what we have been through, because I’m paranoid and worried and scared to death. I told him I had convinced myself that it was ectopic before the 6 wk u/s, and that today I was sure that it was dead. He told me that he had heard good things about my doctor, and that if I was really worried that maybe my doctor could refer me to a high risk doctor for one appointment for reassurance. I got my final handshake and congratulations, and paid my final bill. The check out lady asked if I needed to make another appointment, and it felt absolutely amazing to be able to say “Nope. I’m done.”

I am released to my ob. Of course, I called today to make an appointment with him, and the earliest appointment I can get is nearly a month away. I will be 12 weeks exactly at that point. I am worried about being able to schedule the nuchal translucency scan, which I’ve read should be done between 11 and 13 weeks. I knew it would be different once I left the RE, but wow. I even told the scheduler lady “Look, it has taken a year of fertility treatments, a miscarriage, ten thousand dollars and tons of heartache to get to this point. Is there any way of getting in earlier?” No. But I can see the nurse for the paperwork intake next week. Maybe I can get her to find a way to get me in sooner.

I don’t have a scanner, and I can’t find my camera transfer cable, so I am going to have to wait until S gets home to post pictures of the ultrasound. I still can’t believe this is happening.

Responses

  1. Awesome news, but I can’t imagine that you are the only person that has said something like that to your RE. Of course I spend my free time immersed in the IF community, so perhaps my judgment is skewed.

    But still very awesome that everything is so good and that you are a graduate now! You reminded me that I need to call my ob for my annual. From my perspective a month is lightning fast, if I call today I think I will be lucky to get in before october.

  2. Congratulations!!! Awesome news πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that everything is measuring right where it should be…

    Seriously…I think there should be some kind of OB fastrack for people who have undergone our experiences…..I don’t get to go in again for four more weeks….I’m used to seeing my insides on a daily basis with the RE. It’s toture to wait…

  3. This is great news!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Yaaaa, congrats. I am so excited and happy for you. Now you can breathe a little more sigh of relief. Just keep thinking positive and you will be all good. Promise πŸ™‚

    The nuchal translucency does need to be done between 11-13 weeks. We had ours done at like 11 1/2 maybe. Just wait until you see that ultrasound…MUCH different and you will forget that a test is even being done. lol Very cool

    Keep us posted and start enjoying your wonderful little miracle πŸ™‚

    Take care,
    Tracy

  5. I’ve been waiting all day for this update! I am soooo freakin’ happy for you all! That is fantastic, absolutely fantastic. Sorry you can’t get into your ob/gyn for so long, but hey… at least everything is going well and you’ve been released from the REs. That is a powerful thing. Ahh, I am so happy for you. May things continue to go this well!

  6. That is wonderful news! I am so thrilled for you. I think most of us would have said or at least thought what you did.

  7. i totally agree with kirke! after everything, we should be able to get it quicker, i think. we’re not the run of the mill pregnant ladies that don’t freak out over every little thing πŸ™‚

    congrats btw. i’m so excited for you!!!

  8. Am so happy for you! You are officially a “regular” pregnant lady (long wait for appointments and all) — congrats!

  9. I, also, am so glad it’s not dead! πŸ™‚ Appropriate takes a whole new level when you’ve been through the wringer to get to the point you’re at now. I’m so happy for you.

  10. Congratulations on graduating to the regular OB!

  11. I’m sure the nurse will be able to schedule the Nuchal Translucency test for you. It probably won’t require anything more than the doctor’s rubber stamp, and why would he object?

    Congratulations and good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

