Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | May 13, 2009

cat problems again, 7w 5d

So, last week, not only was I dealing with crappy nausea (still am, by the way), but my cat started having a flare up of his bladder problems again. This is the third time it has happened since Christmas. I was so frustrated with our vet and the way he was handling things that I went and took kitty to a new vet, who had several problems with the way the old vet wanted to treat things. I really like the new vet and I hope that her strategy will help prevent future problems. The new vet gave the cat an ultrasound of his bladder and found some stones. It was a nice machine, as nice as the one good one my RE has (my RE has two ancient u/s machines and one nice one). I was tempted to ask if she would give me an ultrasound too.

Our cat seems to be doing a bit better now, but it was heartbreaking to see him going in the litter box and straining to pee every fifteen minutes or so. I’ve been giving him medicines, fluids,Β  trying to get him to eat, and just generally worrying about him around the clock, all by myself. My husband had been gone for nearly three weeks on business trips, and I was supposed to fly to Dallas and meet up with him for a bit of a road trip. We ended up canceling the trip because of the cat problems. There was no way I could leave the cat for our pet sitter to deal with. He was in danger of another urinary blockage and needed careful monitoring, and he was in a lot of pain. So, our plans changed, and S flew home on Saturday instead of me flying to where he was. I was afraid that S would be mad about canceling the trip, but he was great about it.

Speaking of cats, Amanda’s cat Muffy got diagnosed with a jaw tumor. Please go over and give her some support. All they can do is keep her comfortable for as long as possible.

So, today is 7 weeks and 5 days. We have an ultrasound on Monday, which will be 8w3d. If things are still okay at that point, I’ll be released to my OB. Because I have been so nauseous, I think I’m a bit less worried than for the first ultrasound. I’m sure I will still worry though.Β  I have been so tired and emotional. I’ve actually lost several pounds because I haven’t been eating much.

I seriously have to eat little bits all of the time to try to keep the nausea down. I think S is a little concerned about how often I’m eating. He made me a smoothie last night for dinner, then I ate some cheese and crackers, then I had some watermelon, then an english muffin with peanut butter and honey, some string cheese, and a yogurt, all between 6pm and 11pm. Granted, I don’t think the smoothie really counts as a big dinner, since I could only drink about a cup of it. S also cooked some peas and these ginger teriyaki veggie cakes, which I could not make myself eat. They both smelled horrendous to me. Peas are the devil. I used to love peas, but not now. Ugh, they smell like death. I hope that I am able to eat them again at some point in the future.

The only thing that consistently sounds good to me is Rice a Roni, preferably a cheesy kind. Horrible and unhealthy, processed and full of sodium, I know, but it’s my comfort food. My dad used to make it a lot when we were little. When nothing else sounds good, I can always count on cheesy rice.

Responses

  1. I hope your kitty is feeling better soon and glad you found a vet you like much better. That makes a big difference sometimes I think.

    I got a laugh out of your comfort food Rice a Roni. I have not had that in years and now it sounds really yummy. lol No need to worry about eating little bits all the time it is normal. I am the same way but luckily I have a high metabolism so it works out okay…for now anyway. lol Just enjoy

    Can’t wait to hear how the next us goes. Glad you are relaxing more about things. All is going to be great πŸ™‚

    Take care,
    Tracy

  2. Poor Bird, I am so sorry your cat is sick, but I am glad you found a new and more promising vet.

    I have no good advice for nausea. Poor Bird and no husband to fetch. WTF is that? If there is any time for him to fetch and carry it is NOW dammit. I hope he is gonna be home for the rest of your pregnancy.

  3. yum…i want some cheesy rice πŸ™‚

    so sorry to hear about your poor kitty. hopefully this new vet is on the ball!

    also…i totally can’t believe that you are so far along already πŸ™‚

  4. Sorry the kitty isn’t doing so well again 😦

    Eat some rice a roni if is sounds good.

    Good luck at the u/s on Monday. The nausea sounds promising πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks Birds. Seeing your note about me really touched me.

    I hope your kitty gets better soon too. We haven’t gone on a vacation here in a long time due to having a fragile Muffy. But it’s a sacrifice that’s worth it. What wouldn’t we do for our babies?

    I’m sure all your nausea is a good sign and that u/s on Monday will be great. If rice a roni gets the job done, then eat it up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

