Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | May 8, 2009

i have the nausea

Wow. Something happened in the last five days. I have been so sick and nauseous. Part of me is very happy to have a tangible reminder and hopes this means that everything is going well. The other part of me is just miserable. I haven’t actually thrown up yet, but I spend all day, every day feeling like I might at any moment. I had very little food left in the house by Sunday, but I was afraid of throwing up in my car or in the store, so I put off going to the store until yesterday. Somehow I made it through all the smells in the store and got home with more crackers and some popsicles, among other things. Of course my husband is gone on another business trip and I am on my own.

I’ve tried ginger (yuck!), B6 and 1/2 a unisom (put me to sleep for 16 hours, yikes), preggie pops (ugh, I had to go to BRU to get them, and that is a whole other story), eating crackers before getting out of bed, eating crackers seventeen times a day, trying to eat protein (yuck), and sleeping. The only thing that seems to help is eating. Honestly, many times when I try to eat, I think to myselfย ย  “there is no way I can eat. I will throw up anything that I eat”, but I manage to eat and I feel a little better temporarily. That lasts for about half an hour.

I called the RE and spoke to a nurse and she called in some Zofran for me. I haven’t taken any yet because I feel like a wimp, and I don’t want to take anything unless I absolutely have to. Zofran is generally regarded as safe and very effective for severe nausea and vomiting of pregnancy, but no one knows for sure that it is safe. And I haven’t even vomited yet. I feel like I can’t take it until I actually throw up. Plus, my insurance will only pay for 20 pills a month, even for the generic, and the nurse screwed up and only called in 12 pills, so that’s all I have for the next month. I am just scared of doing something wrong and screwing this up.

Tomorrow is 7 weeks.

Responses

  1. Babe, maybe you could make a ginger syrup? Take the ginger and peel it. The easiest way is with a spoon. Then slice the ginger. In a pot put equal parts sugar and water. Put in the ginger- I would use a copious amount. Then bring to a boil. Once it boils, turn it off. Let it sit. Strain out or fish out the ginger. You should have a nice gingery syrup. You could use that for fruit, tea, or stir some in seltzer.

    I think it is worth a try. That is what I am planning if i ever need it. You can store that syrup in the fridge for practically ever as long as you fish out the syrup.

    Feel better.

  2. I felt the same way, but I never really threw up. It’s finally stopped, and although I am grateful, I kind of miss the reminder that something was going on in there. My OB says that feeling nauseous is an indicator of a health pregnancy….so there is that silver lining.

    It sounds like you are doing a good job handling it….I sipped 7-up and ate crackers most of the day…..I think a lot of little meals helps. Of course, I also treated morning sickness like a hangover and threw whatever I could at it to make myself feel better. Sometimes that was Mc.Don.alds. I’m not proud.

  3. I’m not a fan of nausea and I never throw up, so somedays I really wonder what kind of hell morning sickness will be for me. I wish I knew some kinda trick that you could use, but I don’t. I know it sucks, but it’s still pretty cool.

  4. I am so sorry. It’s got to be a weird feeling — grateful to be there and have the reminder of a sticky pregnancy, yet totally miserable because you honestly feel awful. I wish I had some sort of good advice for you, but it sounds like you’re handling everything really well. I hope this passes very quickly for you!

  5. This is how I felt most of my first trimester. I was in bed most of the time and rarely left the house. I carry crackers in my car at all times when I go out of the house for that just in case moment. I only actually got sick like 3 times. When I felt that was going to happen it was almost instant I kid you not.

    Just take it easy, eat the crackers and drink 7up or Sprite. The bubbles help settle your stomach along with the crackers.

    Hope you feel better soon. Just remember…. It’s all worth it for the little miracle at the end of the journey ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take care,
    Tracy

  6. Yay! or not…never sure how to soothe in this case.

    Did you already pick up the script? Can they add the remaining pills since your insuracne will pay for it?

  7. I am so sorry that you are not feeling well! So bittersweet, huh? On one hand the joyous feelings that you are pregnant, and on the other you are sick and feel like you are about to throw up. Ugh, I really hope that this all passes soon and you can make it through the day without feeling sick!!!

    I wish I had some great “potion/miracle substance” that would help you feel better!!!

    Take care,
    Tina

  8. Hit me like a ton of bricks at 6w3d every time. I threw up every day for months with each pregnancy, sometimes several times a day. It gets better, hang in there.

  9. i threw up 4 times a day!! now i’m down to 2 times a week. i tried, and LOVED, the zofran. it is so helpful. you feel totally normal again. i swear. it’s a miracle. if it makes you feel better, my RE said that she took it daily until she was 25 wks…that it was the only way that she could get through work ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. um…btw….did you know that you are pregnant? wahoo ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Woohoo for seven weeks!

    My first pregnancy I was fairly nauseous early on, even though that pregnancy didn’t last long. I found eating small snacks or meals at intervals was the best offense to the nausea.

    Hope you find something that helps out.

  12. Feeling any better? I totally relate – the nausea hit me about a week ago – now I just have to eat goldfish crackers and sip sprite all day long. Smaller meals, definitely, and food throughout the day. I’m happy to have it, but it does make work TORTURE! Hang in there ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

