Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | May 3, 2009

the ultrasound (more details)

I was so nervous that morning. I seriously thought I might throw up in the waiting room. I had convinced myself that this was all way too fucking good to be true and that something was fairly likely to go wrong. Poor S was trying to keep me calm, holding my hand and rubbing my back. I just wanted to get it over with.

The RE came in to the ultrasound room and introduced himself and said that he didn’t think we had met before. He did my second IUI back in December, so yes, we had met. That didn’t make me feel very good, but whatever, it’s a big practice, the nurses do all the monitoring ultrasounds. Just get this over with. Put me out of my misery.

He looked at my ovaries first, then focused in on my uterus, and there it was, a big black blob. He pointed out the gestational sac and the tiny white blob in the top corner. He zoomed in on it and told me to take a breath and hold it. And there was fluttering! 107 beats per minute. I totally started crying. He measured things and printed out pictures, and started talking about what to eat, what not to eat, blah blah blah. It all went in one ear and out the other. I was so overwhelmed with relief. I got dressed and we met him in another room. I go back for another ultrasound in two weeks, and if things are still going well, I will graduate. I asked about the cramping I’ve been having, and he said it was probably just changes in the uterus, and not to worry unless there was bleeding or it was really painful.

I am so relieved. I also feel a little silly for being so anxious and making myself so sick with worry. It is still really early, and anything can happen in the next couple of months, but for now, things are on track and I can relax a little bit. Wow, that feels weird. I mean, it’s great, but it’s weird. I still feel like this was just total dumb luck that the Femara worked after injectables failed, on a cycle I had totally given up on and the RE advised IVF as the next step. I am so thankful that somehow things went right, and finally, I feel a little hopeful.

And now, here are the pictures:

6w-us-1

6w-us-2

Responses

  1. That is just brilliant hon – I cant believe you got to see the heatbeat! I am so thrilled for you πŸ™‚

  2. Amazing! I’m a little jealous….I want another ultrasound πŸ™‚

    I thought waiting for the first ultrasound was the scariest wait ever…..I’m glad you are over the hurdle.

    I’m so glad you were able to see the heartbeat and can start to relax!

  3. This is great! I remember waiting for my first ultrasound and I was just so nervous/scared that I couldn’t sit still at all!

  4. Yaaa, see all went awesome. Just as I knew it would. Welcome to mommy hood. It’s a wonderful place to be.

    Wait until the u/s get better and better. To watch the little one grow and see the changes is just amazing. The one good thing about IVF….I get lots of u/s and I am always amazed.

    Sit back and just enjoy the changes and the reality that you will one day soon be holding that little miracle and it will all be worth it in the end πŸ™‚

    Good luck and keep us posted.

    Take care,
    Tracy

  5. Yay, I am so happy for you!!!! I’m glad you can relax and enjoy a bit now…if you start stressing in the days before the next u/s just go back and re-read this post.

    Congratulations!!!

  6. That is awesome! HI BABY BIRD!

  7. this is great!!!

  8. That is awesome!! I’m so glad that everything went well and i can’t wait to hear about how much bigger the baby has gotten at the next u/s!!

  9. So exciting — looking forward to more positive updates from you! Those photos are something to aspire to…

  10. Your vagina looks so familiar, but I seem to be drawing a blank.

    Hope you rest a little easier for a while.

  11. OMG! I take a month off and look at all the good news! I’m thrilled for you. Chirp! Chirp! (that’s your little bird-yes, I’m a total dork)

  12. That is glorious πŸ™‚

  13. YAY! NBHHY!

  14. Biiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiird, I am checking on yoooooooooou.


Leave a Reply

Categories

