Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | April 24, 2009

5w0d

5 weeks. This past week has gone by so slowly. I briefly considered calling the RE and lying, saying I’m spotting and cramping and begging for an earlier ultrasound, but in all reality, there probably isn’t a damn thing to see yet (which would be upsetting in itself), and karma is a bitch. I have had some cramping here and there, but no spotting.

Here’s a rundown of symptoms. Heartburn nearly all the time. Nausea some of the time, but no vomiting yet. My breasts are a little sore, but not too bad. My nose is runny all the time. I’m tired all the time. Crazy sense of smell. I cry at least several times a day, for no good reason. I’ve had a bad headache for the past 24 hours, and of course Tylenol is a joke. Please keep in mind, I am not complaining. I feel so lucky to be in the position of having these problems, and in a way, it makes me feel better having some symptoms.

The first ultrasound is in exactly a week. I know I should be trying to stay relaxed and positive, but I am still so worried that someting will be wrong. I hate the waiting. I hate that there is nothing I can do. I hate that my husband is away for so long and that I’m alone. I did have a moment the other night that was strange, in a good way. I was putting lotion on my feet before bed, and I put some on my tummy and was rubbing it in and said out loud “I love you Baby”. And it hit me. Right now I have the beginnings of a baby growing in me. I felt a moment of such hope and happiness. Then the worry and fear crept back in. But that moment was great.

Responses

  1. Hi, I just googled “4dpo, bloated” (because that is what I am today after our 5th round of injectables) and found one of your old posts about being so bloated after your 3d round. Although I was hoping to find out that that round worked for you, I now see that this last month did and want to wish you all the best. I know how scary the waiting is especially after an earlier loss. I’ll be checking back in to see how things turn out!

  2. you’re cute. i’m worried to stop the metformin as well. i think that they told me to take it until 14 wks?? not sure. i’m going to ask my ob next week.

  3. Hoping the week just flies by for you!

  4. The waiting must be excruciating. I know you hate when your husband is away. How is your cat?

  5. Hoping the u/s comes quickly!

  6. I know the waiting is hard but you have the first big hurdle done and now that little one just needs to grow and do their thing. It will be hear before you know it and all will be just fine. Just relax, keep busy and think positive!

    At our first u/s it was a little blob but our doctor pointed out the yolk sac and then the very little thing attached to it that he said was the baby. We all just laughed.

    Remember to get pictures as I am sure they will do that for you anyway but I always ask to make sure :0)

    It’s all going to go great and you will be just fine. Just enjoy the new things happening and smile cause you deserve to ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take care,
    Tracy

  7. I think you are doing great. Right now is about holding onto those fleeting moments, making the most of them, until soon those moments multiply and start taking over. Hope the next week flies by.

  8. You are doing so good!!! I think the wait to the first ultrasound is SO hard!! I had cramping too….(and still do at times)….it’s my least favorite symptom, because I think it is the scariest.

    I hope this week flies by for you!! I don’t get another u/s for I don’t know how long, next appointment is just the doppler…..

    I love your moment of hope and happiness ๐Ÿ™‚ I think we need to hold on to those….

  9. My progesterone went down quite a bit between my two betas…freaked me the heck out, I’ll tell ya. I couldn’t sleep I was so upset. I think it went from 20 to 15 or something like that.

    Things worked out just fine. I had a baby, quite the healthy one at that. Apparently it is quite normal for it to vary after all. Hang in there!

  10. I am not really having any strong symptoms to speak of…it’s so hard to know if it’s mental or truly physical. I’m trying to take things one day at a time, but it IS hard. Hang in there – I’m sure the week will pass slowly but hopefully will have a great outcome. I can’t get an ultrasound until a week from Wednesday ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    We’re here with you, sending encouraging thoughts!

  11. Glad things are still going well.

    Enjoy the moment hun. Hang in there, lots of good thoughts your way!

  12. The wait can be horrible!( I know!) But it’s almost over!!!!!

  13. hang in.. i had to wait until 7 weeks for the first US.. it’s hard but worth it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

