Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | April 15, 2009

beta at 12 dpo: 79

The nurse just called. Beta is 79, so apparently I am, um, the p-word (I can’t say it out loud), at least for now.

Progesterone is 36.7, which she said is good. I go back Friday morning for beta #2.

According to betabase.com, the median beta at 12 dpo is 36. So, I guess 79 is pretty good.

Holy shit. A week ago I was a desperate, weepy mess, convinced that we either needed IVF or dIUI.  I had no hope that this last ditch Femara cycle would work. I am in shock.

Femara, I love you. I especially love that I got you for free, after spending $6,000 on Follistim and monitoring for 3 IUI cycles. I admit, it makes for a good story. I will love you even more if you result in us getting a 2009 tax deduction for a b*** (can’t say that word out loud yet either) that will be due on Christmas day.

This could all go to shit in an instant. I am more hopeful now, but I know that this could still not work out, and I’m trying to mentally prepare myself, in case that does happen. Thank you guys so much for all of the positive thoughts and comments. I can’t tell you how much it means tome to have such a wonderful community to lean on in good times and in bad.

Responses

  1. That’s an excellent number!!! I love that the Femera worked especially as you were the one who proposed it…..maybe you can be an RE 🙂

    A Christmas baby!!! What’s cuter than that?!?!

  2. Congrats! That’s a good number for 12dpo.

    Hmmm…maybe I need some of this Femara magic…

  3. I think this means I have to move you on my blog list.

  4. Great beta, and your progesterone is excellent!!!!!

    Yay!

  5. That’s amazing for 12dpo! Congrats!!! 🙂 Continuing to send good thoughts you way!

  6. wahoo!! this is excellent news. who woulda thunk it? 😉

  7. yay! you give me hope, since i also have PCOS and crappy morphology….can’t wait until beta #2 gives you a sigh of relief!!

  8. YAY!!!!!!!!! Now just picture your number going UP UP UP!! Praying that you are at peace, and don’t let the infertility follow you too far into this pregnancy.. believe me I know that it’s hard not to worry or be “realistic”.. We tried for 6 years before we got our very first ever BFP a little more than a week ago. But I guess one day at a time is the key here.. for now, we are PREGNANT!! So happy for you and your hubby.
    Anna

  9. YEA!!!! What wonderful news! I am so happy for you.

    Love the story about finding out on Easter and due on Christmas! How wonderful.

    I hope you are able to enjoy this time.

    Tina

  10. Wow, my 12 dpo beta was 79 but my progesterone was much lower, 15 I think it was. I was the P word and I had a b*** so my fingers are crossed for you!!!

  11. Today you are pregnant! You are pregnant today! keep saying it over and over again. It helps!

  12. Wow!! Congratulations!! I am so happy for you both!

  13. Lovely number! Here’s hoping for more good news!

  14. This is so great — sending you lots of positive vibes for more good news on Friday. Just try to take it one step at a time and enjoy each victory! So happy for you.

  15. Yay! P-word! Yay! Lots and lots of good vibes and good feelings going out to you! Yay Femara!

  16. SCORE! I am so so so sossosossossosossoso super excited for you!

  17. Wow! Congratulations, you. This is a beautiful start to a beautiful story!

  18. Congratulations!!!!

  19. Woot! That is great news!

  20. I’m SO happy for you! From everything I’ve been hearing, Femara can work some serious miracles. At my RE’s office on the 13th, my RE was telling me about a woman–age 42–who came in a few days before to celebrate her first pregnancy, achieved with Femara and a *natural* cycle! (Today is 3dpiui for me…here’s hoping Femara might make the crucial difference for me, too, this month. 🙂
    Congrats!!!!

  21. Oh my goodness – Congratulations hon! I am so thrilled for you!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

