Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | April 13, 2009

how in the hell did this happen?

10 dpo. S woke me up after he got out of the shower with a kiss and asked “Are you going to pee on a stick?”

He waited outside the bathroom door while I peed. First I used another cheap test from Target. The line was still faint, but definitely darker than yesterday. There was no question if a line was there. Then I used a FRER. Nothing. Totally white, only the control line. Shit.

As a tie breaker, I pulled out the digital:

digitalcr1

The digital test can’t be wrong, can it? Why isn’t it showing up on the FRER? I hate First Response.

Seriously, how did this happen? After three failed cycles on injectables, this Femara cycle worked. Timing was crappy. We didn’t even know for sure if the follicles were good and not cysts because I didn’t have a baseline ultrasound. During the “fertile period” we only had intercourse once, two days before the IUI. The post wash count (19 million)wasn’t even close to his best (66 million). We did not have intercourse the day of the IUI or the next day. I have zero symptoms, not even the sore breasts that prometrium usually gives me. Hell I wasn’t even sure that I really ovulated with the trigger.

What do I do now? Wait a few more days and keep testing and make sure the tests get even darker? The nurses will outright laugh their assess off if I call and request a beta on 10 dpo! There’s no way they will believe that the trigger shot is always gone from my system by 3-4 dpo. Plus, I don’t want to see low numbers like last time. At the same time, it would be good to get two betas in before the weekend because my clinic is stupid and not open on weekends. Maybe I’ll wait until Wednesday to call and request a beta.

When I saw the word “Pregnant” come up on the digital without that nasty “Not” in front of it, I was relieved and happy. I am not getting ahead of myself though. No jumping up and down. No telling anyone (except you guys) since we didn’t tell anyone about this Femara cycle. No tickers. No getting excited until I see a heartbeat. Then I might just believe it.

Responses

  1. congratulations! i think you should definitely try to get a beta done on wed or thurs. i will send some good ju ju into the universe that this really is IT!! you can stop being an infertile and be a regular pregnant lady for a while πŸ™‚

  2. Whoa! Life is ironic isn’t it! I know you’re freaked, but a line at 9dpo (and digital at 10) has to feel a lot better and different from last time.

    I think wait till 12 DPO and call your clinic then.

  3. holy crap! πŸ™‚ that’s great. i think you should call tomorrow….get a beta on tues/wed and then again thurs/fri.

    keeping my fingers crossed over here. (with a big smile on my face!!)

    xoxo

  4. Awesome!! Congratulations!!

  5. Awesome! Congratulations!!!

  6. This is great! You two must be over the moon:) Certainly call and have your betas done on Wed/Fri or you will drive yourself crazy all weekend, lo. I’m so happy for you, hon.

  7. so happy for you! Hoping your beta comes back w/ awesome numbers!

  8. Praise God!! Stick little one!! So happy for the PROGRESS, focus on that for now!! It is POSITIVE!

    Anna in CA

  9. Wow! I never saw the digital without the Not in front of the word Pregnant. I’m glad to know that it’s possible…

    No advice for you – just hoping for a positive beta!

  10. This is wonderful! I’d say take a shot at calling your RE and asking them to humor you. After all a second beta which would be their first would either confirm that everything is going up or be negative. If you are paying, why not? Or, you could try going to your family doctor and explaining what you want. I would at least ask, because a no will put you exactly where you are now.

    I am so so excited for you, and it gives me hope that someday I will see the same thing on a stick.

  11. Sending good thoughts out there for you…strong thoughts….sticky thoughts…take care of yourself…I hope you get to jump up and down really, really soon.

  12. Wow!

  13. WOW!!! Congrats!

  14. Sticky Sticky Sticky!!!!

  15. Wow, congrats! I never bothered much with betas, I only had them done with one pregnancy. I kinda figured, it is what it is and knowing won’t change it…but you have to do what your heart tells you to do. Some people NEED numbers. If you’re one of those, I hope that when you get your beta, the numbers are fantastic!

  16. Oh, this is so awesome!!! Congrats and hoping this is it for you!

  17. YEA!!!! Congrats on the FABULOUS news! I am so happy for yall!! I will keep you in my thoughts!!!!!

  18. Wow! Digis are less sensitive than FRER, that’s odd. Was it a first response early response? I agree, it’s odd… BUT digis are less sensitive, so I think you may be pregnant darling πŸ™‚ Congrats!

    Get that beta!

  19. YAAAA, congrats. This is awesome news. I will keep praying that it continues to get better and better πŸ™‚

    When we went through our cycle, I had no symptoms at all. But we are now 10 weeks pregnant, have heard the heart beat and all is going wonderfully so far. Sometimes symptoms show up later so don’t worry if you don’t have any yet. You will if all goes well πŸ™‚

    Take care and keep us posted πŸ™‚

    Tracy

  20. YEAH!!!!! This is wonderful news!! I had the same problem, with the other brands having a faint faint line, but the Clearblue easy said pregnant right away! I had the please too of seeing those lines get darker and darker since I tested so early! I would call and get the Beta’s for Wednesday and Friday like a pp said.
    YEAH!!!!! I am so excited for you!!! πŸ™‚

  21. Yay!!!! I had to check as soon as I got home from work. I was thinking about you today and hoping for more good news!!

    I’m so happy for you!!!! I think you should definitely call and schedule the beta….just think of all the money you will save in pregnancy tests πŸ™‚

    Sending lots of positive, sticky thoughts!!

  22. This is so great — and I secretly love that it’s from a cycle that had the odds stacked against it in your estimation…it is a great story! I agree with earlier comments — maybe wait until later this week and demand a test. Hopefully it will be high enough where you don’t need another and you can just try to enjoy being pg for a while! Fingers are crossed for you!

  23. OH MY GOD! I’ve been off the computer for a few days, and I just about fell off my chair when my reader was showing your test. WOW! I am so hoping that this is real and sticks for you guys. Partially selfish, too, because if my cycle worked we’d be just days apart.

    Everything crossed for you!

  24. Bird, I hope you got a good result this morning.

  25. I’m so late, but many, many congratulations!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

