Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | March 3, 2009

IUI #3 done

The IUI is done. It was the first one without my husband. I made a huge fuss about him being there for the first one in November. The second one happened on a Saturday, so he was there because he didn’t have to take time off work to be there. I told him last night that he didn’t need to be there for the IUI today. I was just glad he was willing to drop the sample off on his way to work so I didn’t have to get up so early. He told me that he’d still be there at conception because he knows that’s going to happen when we have the “homework” intercourse tonight. He could be right. The IUI happened about 26 hours after the trigger shot, so I probably won’t ovulate until late tonight.

I have to say that it was completely fine without him, even probably more relaxing since I was alone for the 15 minutes afterwards on the table. The past two times, I felt like I needed to amuse him while we waited and we probably ended up leaving earlier than we needed to. This time I brought a lavendar eye pillow, my ipod with relaxation music to listen to (thanks to Celia for recommending it), and a travel sized blanket that I didn’t end up using since the room was quite warm.Β  I was very relaxed by the end of the fifteen minutes, and I walked out of the clinic into a crisp but beautiful blue sky sunny day.

My favorite nurse did the IUI. I told her that I was glad it was her because she’s my favorite. She said that made her day. She was the one who did the IUI the cycle I got pregnant but miscarried, so I’m hoping she’s got the lucky insemination touch or something. The IUI itself hurt a bit more than the other two. There was a lot of cramping. The count after wash was 37.6 million sperm, which is great for us.

She suggested that since this is the third IUI, I should schedule an appointment for a consultation with the RE now. In case this cycle doesn’t work, then I won’t have to wait several weeks from then to come up with another plan. I made the appointment for 18dpo. I figure I should know by then what the outcome of the cycle is, even if AF hasn’t come yet because of the prometrium.

I’m sure she was referring to moving on to IVF, which we are not ready to do. First, we cannot afford it. We would have to save up for a long time because with the current economic crisis, it’s just not something we can justify taking out a loan on or putting on credit cards. Second, we know that I did get pregnant with just injectables and IUI. It’s possible. I’d rather try another few cycles of IUI with injectables or even going back down toΒ  IUI + femara, before throwing up our hands and thinking IVF is the only way. We know that with IUI, sperm has met egg and implantation occurred. To me, that’s enough reason to keep trying what we are doing for a bit longer.

I asked for a copy of the monitoring form for this cycle. It’s always interesting to see what they tell you versus what they write down. My E2 level yesterday 1633, lining was 10.0. Left ovary had a 16mm follicle, 9 around 10-11mm and several more less than 8mm. Right ovary had a 14mm, 5 around 10-11mm and that damned cyst is still there, right at 30mm. I came away yesterday thinking that I had a 16mm and a 17mm follicle. Maybe I confused the numbers with what she said they could be the next day. I’m a little disappointed. I asked the nurse today if both of those were big enough to be mature, and she said that yeah, they probably grew 2-3 mm from yesterday after the trigger, so they would both be mature. I was under the impression that 18mm was what they were looking for. What size follicle does your clinic consider to be mature?

Also, I took a picture of the mysterious “non-absorbant sponge” that they use after IUI. Thank goodness I had to wait fifteen minutes for the nurse to come in the room, because after I disrobed from the waist down, I realized I needed to give the sperm test tube a pep talk, take some pictures of the IUI implements, and get my ipod and eye pillow all ready. I was so happy when I looked at the tube and saw my husband’s name, birthdate, and 37.6 million. I held the tube and said “You can do it! You can do it!” over and over. While I waited, I got up a few times and talked to the sperm again, small sheet wrapped around me, hoping the nurse wouldn’t walk in and wonder what the hell I was doing talking to the washed sperm.

Here is a picture. The sponge is the thing on the left.

iui-31

Responses

  1. Yay for you! I’m rooting for you and sending you lots of good vibes over the interwebs. Good luck!

  2. Sending positive thoughts your way.

    Good luck!

  3. I think you are right on target with your assessment of the situation. If it works for you, what justifies moving onto a much more time consuming, expensive treatment?

    I totally agree with you about the numbers they tell you in office and the actual file numbers. EVERY single IUI I’ve done I’ve heard one thing DURING the ultrasound, but been given different numbers afterward. (Example, last cycle my ultrasound tech told me I had one about 17mm, but when they called from the “big office” that afternoon with instructions, they told me it was just 14.9mm) I’ve been thinking about asking for a copy of my file just so that I can get the REAL numbers for myself. After reading this post, I am definitely going to do just that.

    Here’s hoping your GREAT pep talk really motivated some sperm to get happy with some egg(s) tonight!

    *Hugs*
    Jo

  4. Excellent numbers!

    Maybe this is just a fairy tale, but when I was worried about my follies being so small this time, the nurse told me that some women have better luck with smaller follicles. She might have been making it up, but I’m still holding onto it.

    I like to talk to the sperm while I’m waiting for the timer to go off too. I think they appreciate the encouragement.

  5. I hope this is the cycle! 2 ww, here you come. πŸ™‚ Hang in there!

  6. Oh yeah, and I’ve talked to my DH’s sperm in the vial before IUIs and in his man parts before our egg retrieval. Dear God, have we all gone insane?!

  7. Congrats! The numbers sound really good. I’m really hoping that this is the one for you guys!

    PS – Great idea on asking for the monitoring sheet. I think I’m going to try that as well. I noticed something similar to what you described during my last cycle when the numbers they would tell me were all over the place – sometimes fewer than the day before, sometimes a huge jump.

  8. I love that you gave the sperm a pep talk. I am so glad you find that music helpful. I love it.

  9. OK, I love that you were taking pictures of everything before the insem. It would have been so funny if they walked in on you! I’m going to load up my iPod with songs to take for my upcoming appointments – great idea.

    GOOD LUCK!!

  10. yea! i’m so glad that you had a good IUI. πŸ™‚ i think that this sounds so good. you had some private time with dh’s lil guys, had a transfer with the good nurse, and had some relaxing time afterwards.

    can’t wait to see how things go. πŸ™‚ wahoo.

  11. I really hope everything works out for you this time. I’m praying for you! I also have PCOS and have been trying to conceive for about 4 years now. We are on the exact same schedule. I had my IUI done on March 4th.

    I went in to the doctors office on March 2nd to see what my eggs looked like. I didn’t think anything had happen because I had no pain or soreness this time. I actually felt good. To my surprise I ended up having 6 eggs above 18mm. My doctor want all of my eggs to be above 18mm. I took some very heavy artillery this time because back in November I took 2 hcg & 1 fostimon and I did get pregnant but lost it in a chemical pregnancy. Which sucked!!!!! So this time I took 2 hcg & 2 fostimon. It worked. I know it sounds crazy but if I dont take such heavy amounts my eggs never get big enough.

    As for the wait….. it’s almost over for both of us. It’s about to drive me crazy. I keep telling myself that I am and then I talk myself out of it. I want to take a test on Saturday to see if I am, but I dont because I dont want to be let down again.

    I am sending lots of baby dust your way.

    Emily
    http://emilymroberts.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

