Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | February 1, 2009

i finally finished something!

Inspired by Amanda, I decided to complete a project during this stupid cyst cycle. Her cyst is gone, so I’m hoping that I’ll follow in her footsteps soon and be cycling again.

So, I have a lot of babies coming into my life. Unfortunately, they are not my babies. They are other peoples’ babies, and they torture me. It seems like every damn friend or relative of reproductive age is pregnant. One of these babies was born about two weeks ago. I had started knitting a blanket for her many months ago, but after the miscarriage, I just couldn’t work on it anymore. Once I got the sewing machine for Christmas, I figured that maybe I could sew something for her, and it would be faster than knitting a damn blanket that I’ve already been working on forever and is only a third of the way finished.

I decided to make one of those blankets with ribbon tags on it. I started working on it on Friday. I cut the ribbons and the material Friday night, and I finished the whole thing on Saturday. It turned out just wonderfully, and I almost don’t want to give it up. I can make more though. It’s the first real thing I’ve made with the sewing machine, and I’m rather proud of myself! I used a pink and green polka dot flannel for one side, and pink furry minkee for the other side. I had stockpiled a bunch of different ribbon. I used some satin ribbon and other textured ribbon. It’s about 17 inches square.

blankie31

blankie11

ribbon

Today is cd 21. I never got a smiley face, but the lines have gotten pretty darn close to each other, so I may have ovulated, or I may still ovulate. I don’t know. I’m so frustrated with my body. My temp was up a little, but not significantly. We’ll see what happens tomorrow. I just want to move forward.

Responses

  1. i made myself crazy waiting for that damn smiley face!!!!

    cute blanket, though:)

  2. I love the ribbons you chose! I know babies love stuff with tags on it, so I’m sure who ever gets that will really enjoy it.

    I hope it takes care of those cysts for you too! Sorry the smiley face hasn’t appeared. I know it’s frustrating, but you’ve already been on a break for 21 days, so very soon you can induce a flow if you want to give up on spontaneous ovulation this cycle… if you’re not sure if you want to go ahead and induce or not you could always go in for a scan now and see if (A) there is anything good growing in there to wait on and (B) status on the cysts. I don’t know if this is done very often, but it might bring some piece of mind.

  3. Your friend is really, really lucky to have you! I stopped any sort of baby-gifts (aside from generic gift cards) a while back, out of self-preservation.

    This blanket is so cute! Just think of this one as practice, and by the time you are working on your own it will be even more perfect.

  4. The blanket is adorable! i hear you, i started a blanket years ago for my brother and his wife (now ex) i still have it, it’s like 2/3 of the way done. 🙂

    Sorry about the smiley face! ugh!

  5. i never got a smiley face either. It drove me crazy. I did get two lines that were damn close. I gave up. Temps aren’t cooperating either 😦

    Anyway, I feel you on everyone you know being pregnant. But I love the blanket! 🙂

  6. Love the blanket.

  7. That is adorable! I especially like the brown ribbon with the polka dots.

    The only thing I accomplished this cycle was cleaning out my closet.

    Stupid cysts. Down with cysts!

  8. That blanket is so adorable 🙂

  9. Too cute! I love the colors you picked!

  10. That is just gorgeous!!! 😀 You are very talented!

  11. I LOVE the blanket!!! Will you teach me?? Sorry about the smiley face…hang in there, though. Thinking of you!

  12. On the prometrium, I do 100mg morning and night (for 10 days). Don’t know if 200 once a day would do it ok or not… it probably would, but it might just be a little predictable. I hope those weird dreams don’t find you again.

  13. I’m very impressed with the blanket–both because it is so cute AND because you were able to do it.

  14. Absolutely precious!

  15. Love. It.

    Nice job!


Leave a Reply

Categories

