Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | January 7, 2009

please, please pee. please.

My cat is trying to give me a nervous breakdown. The emergency vet hospital discharge instructions said that we need to make sure he pees a good amount (a clump the size of an egg) at least every 12 hours. And my cat is stretching it to the very maximum, every time. An hour ago, at 4:30am, I was sitting on the floor of the bathroom next to the litter box, crying and snotty, begging my cat to pee. Please, please. I don’t want to have to take you back to that bad scary place where they will stick that tube in your penis again. Please, please pee.

We have three litter boxes, all of them spotless, one of them new and filled with Dr. Elsey’s Cat Attract litter (Celia, is that what your cat likes?). I have bowls of water everywhere, refreshed twice daily with Brita filtered water. We have two pet drinking water fountains. I’m doing everything I can to get him to drink and eat wet food and pee. I have a recheck appointment for him tomorrow afternoon with our regular vet if we make it that far without another urinary blockage. My husband does not seem to care or worry, and he is sleeping soundly in the guest room with the kitten, so he has it easy. I’m up worrying about my muffin cat, trying to spoon feed him watered down baby food every two hours, giving him various medicines, and being the litter box nazi. He finally did pee, just when I was starting to get ready for a trip back to the emergency vet, 30 minutes away, in a snowstorm in the middle of the night. I guess this is one way to distract yourself during the two week wait. On the plus side, when you don’t sleep, you can’t really dream and have the bizarre and disturbing dreams that prometrium has been causing.

I almost tested yesterday morning, at 10 dpo, but I remembered my promise to you guys to wait until 12 dpo and peed and flushed before I lost my resolve. I will not test with anything other than first morning urine. I’ve slept about two hours this miserable night, and I peed right after kitty did, so there’s no FMU today either. Thursday will be 12 dpo and I will test, I think. The temp I took after two hours of sleep last night was down a little, but I don’t think that’s reliable at all. The breasts are still sore, but a little less so. My stomach is upset, but probably due to worry and lack of sleep. I am not really hopeful for this cycle. And given that our cat emergency has cost just about an entire cycle of injectables and monitoring, I don’t know that we will be able to do another cycle of injectables right away. I’m discouraged and depressed.

In happier news, Barren is the New Black has selected me for an award. Thank you!

red-cape-award

Iā€™m bestowing hero status on:

and
Both of these wonderful ladies have been there for me since I came out of my blogging shell. They are so supportive and kind and smart and funny. Many of Celia’s posts have made me nearly pee myself laughing. I can so relate to Amanda’s struggles with Clomid and anovulatory cycles. They are both my heroes.

::::: Passing along the Red Cape Award :::::

On your blog, copy and paste the award, these rules, a link back to the person who selected you, and a link to this post: Red Cape Award SuperCrew. This is a running list of awardees.

Check in on the SuperCrew post by leaving a link to your blog and a comment to let Kymberli of Iā€™m a Smart One know that you were passed a Red Cape Award so she can add you to the list.

Select as many award recipients as you would like, link to their blogs (if they have one), and explain why you have chosen them.

Let them know that you have selected them for an award by commenting on one of their posts.

If you find that someone you want to nominate has already been selected by someone else, you can still honor them by posting a comment on their award post stating your reasons for wishing to grant them the award.

Responses

  1. Oh, wow, thanks for the award. I’m just surprised that anyone reads my blog.

    Have you tried adding tuna juice to his water? It sounds like you are doing about everything you possibly can and I know it can be frustrating/heart breaking. Hopefully he’s through the worst of it. Poor thing.

    And you, you poor thing. I can’t sleep either when something is wrong with my muffy cat, but DH sure can. I don’t think men realize that we have multiple timers and checklists going on in our heads all the time and if something is getting off a little we start to worry. Men don’t seem to worry until the train has completely derailed.

    I wouldn’t take too much stock in that bbt either.

    Proud of you for holding off poasing. I hope you don’t have to do another cycle. Your ins doesn’t cover this stuff, right? Have you ever thought about ordering meds online to save money? I know it seems kinda risky. There are some pretty reputable retailers like ivfmeds.com that might really help to save you the cash if your dr. is willing to let you order from them. Still hoping that you won’t need to order more meds.

  2. So sorry about your kitty. I’ve done the kitty watch thing, it’s not fun.

    Good luck.

  3. Tuna water is a brilliant idea. Or maybe beef broth? I even dribbled water on my cats nose to irritate him into licking it off and getting some fluid in him that way.

    Dr. Elsey’s Cat Litter is the only kind we use. It is pricey but Finicky McPrincessPants glares accusingly at us when we try something else and Will Hold It till she can’t take it and then pee elsewhere. If they ever go out of business we are effed.

    When Thunder had pnumonia I spent all my time in the bathroom tapping his chest in a room filled with steam. I was hysterical.

    Your poor baby.

    Thank you so much for saying I almost make you pee your pants. My ultimate goal of course is to make you shoot milk through your nose.

  4. I’m so sorry you’re having a hard time with kitty. I wish we could really communicate with them so they would understand that if they just do what we want, no vet!

    GOOD LUCK with testing tomorrow!

  5. I’m sorry about your kitty still having issues. I really hope he gets better soon. The poor guy.

    Good luck with testing tomorrow. I hope it worked.

  6. šŸ˜¦ poor kitty. hoping that he gets better soon…. and thinking about you testing tomorrow. fingers crossed! šŸ™‚

  7. As I am reading this at 5:30 am, I am waiting for my cat to pee. In the past, he has had urinary blockages and had to have a PU (Perineal Urethrostomy) because of a penile anatomical defect. I am so familiar with the crying, snotting, and pleading. I thought I was the only one. Even though he is doing great, I still have him on a schedule. If he doesn’t pee by a certain time, guess what crying…snotting…and pleading. I’m so happy you love your kitty so much! Best of luck to you and your little friend.

  8. The topic is quite trendy on the Internet at the moment. What do you pay the most attention to when choosing what to write about?


Leave a Reply

Categories

