Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | January 4, 2009

bargaining with god – cat vs baby

I love my cats just as much as I would love a child. I’ve always rescued cats, much to my dad’s dismay. I would bring home cats or litters of ferals and foster them and find homes for them. I’ve always known that if I were handed a huge chunk of money, I would want to fund a cat rescue house where cats could live in a real house with couches and beds until they got adopted into forever homes. So, it’s safe to say I’m a cat person. Which is why what happened last night was supremely scary and stressful.

We had a cat crisis last night. We noticed our big cat was acting strangely, licking his bottom frequently, and then S noticed him straining in the litter box. Off we went, at 10pm last night to the only emergency vet hospital in town. He had a complete urinary blockage requiring catheterization. The estimate for the bill was $1600. We said of course, do whatever needs doing. It broke my heart to hear my poor kitty sitting in the litter box making grunty crying noises. Luckily we caught it very early, they said. No kidney damage. He’s still in the hospital for another day, but hopefully tomorrow night we can bring him home. On the way to the vet, I found myself bargaining with God in my head. I thought, let my kitty be okay, and I’ll give up a bfp this cycle (if I were to get one anyway). I hope this helps me accept it when I get a negative on Thursday! It looks like our cat will be okay, though he may have problems in the future that we need to be watchful for. We visited him this morning and tried to get him to eat food, but he was so agitated and had a cone on and an IV in. It was really upsetting to see him like that. I think it was especially hard on S. At one point he turned to me and said “If I feel like this over a sick cat, I can’t imagine how I’ll feel about a sick baby.” He told me he loves our cats. I know he does, but for him to admit how much he cares about our cats was huge. It made me love him even more.

It’s 8 dpo. My temperature went up a good bit this morning, and I’ve had the usual progesterone side effects and a little bit of odd cramping. I feel kind of like there’s something up in there, like when they put the weird plastic “non absorbant” sponge in after the first IUI and I couldn’t wait to take it out. But there is in fact no foreign object in my vagina. Odd. Not reading anything into this, especially after my bargain with God.

Responses

  1. they put something into your va-j-j after your IUI? I’ve never heard of this.

    poor kitty! i hope everything turns out okay! 🙂

  2. Your poor kitty. I am right there with you. I love my cat every bit as much as my husband and more than everyone else. I would and have spent us broke to keep him healthy.

    Poor baby, I hope the time goes fast till he is home with you.

  3. Oh, the poor kitty! I also freak out when something happens to my babies. I don’t know what I’d do without them right now. My kitties mean a lot to me.

    I hope yours gets to feeling better!

  4. I’ve never heard them putting anything up there after an IUI. What’s it supposed to do?

    I hope you cat gets better quickly!

  5. very sorry to hear about your kitty’s troubles.

    and I hope you get a bfp, but if you get a bfn it isn’t because you bargained, you know. much as we might wish, don’t think it works that way or my guess is you would have long ago bargained well and gotten a baby out of this deal (i know i would have!)

    you’re going to have to ‘splain about that sponge thingy. never heard of such a thing. my mind is doing cartwheels trying to imagine.

    Mo

  6. Oh, and I just looked at your Chart tab…OMG!!! I thought IVF was involved. I’m getting my PhD and I was completely overwhelmed looking at all that!!! wowzers : )

    Mo

  7. Oh, I’m sorry to hear about your kitty. He’s so lucky to have such loving owners. I hope he’s doing better.

    I took my cat to the big vet hospital last year. It was very tough on her, but we know a lot more about her health now. It was the most distressing not to get to be with her when she was being treated. It was also heartbreaking to see the people that bring their pets in for really difficult treatments like cancer. I feel very lucky everyday to have my baby (fur or none).

    I’m with you on the cat rescue. It kinda kills me that these IF treatments eat up so much of my cash that I would rather donate to a worthy organization to help with animals.

    I know you are having some trouble with faith lately, and I’m not trying to get preachy, but repeated a couple of times throughout the gospels is the message about whatever you did for the least of these you did for me… I used to be an atheist and I still always like this message as someone that wants to help the helpless animals out there. I always knew whether I went to church on Sunday or not that my heart was in the right place. Even when there is nothing that you can do, the intention is still better than the indifference that many people would show.

    http://icanhascheezburger.com/2008/06/25/funny-pictures-not-alwayz-ware-costooms/

  8. I’m so glad your kitty is okay!! I’m the exact same way about my dogs, so I can empathize. I hope he stays well. gl this month getting your bfp.

  9. So sorry to hear about the kitty!! Hope you are all doing well!

  10. My two cats wish yours a speedy recovery. They would send him a piece of string to cheer him or a paper shopping bag for him to hide in if they had the address.

    As for me, I hope your cat is okay AND you get your bfp. You deserve both!

    PS like the others, I can’t help but express my curiosity over this item you had inserted after your IUI. Do tell.

  11. Oh no! That is really strange you write this, because we’ve spent the last two weeks with our cat peeing on the couch, licking his area, not using the litter, etc. It has been $500 in blood and urine workups, plus prescriptions and special foods, just when I need to be saving $$ for our treatments. HA – damn cat is stealing MY bloodwork money!

    But, I love them to death and would do pretty much anything for them. I hope yours is feeling better SOON. Did the vet give you a recommendation for new food?

    Keep us posted on your symptoms – I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

