Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | January 1, 2009

we are highly inappropriate.

Sometime last week, S and I were talking, somewhat sarcastically, about how interesting (which is a nice way of putting it) it was that my uncle’s unborn child (who is not due to be born into the world for another four months) was mentioned, by name, in my grandfather’s obituary last month. I understand that everyone is excited about this new baby, and perhaps I’m just bitter and jealous that I’m not pregnant, but it seems a bit odd to me to be including an unborn child that never knew my grandpa as a “survived by”. Ultrasound isn’t perfect. What if it turns out to be a boy? What if they decide, in the next four months, to change the intended name? God forbid, what if something happens to the baby between now and April? It’s just asking for trouble.  I’ve never heard of including an unborn child, by name, as a survivor in an obituary. Am I crazy? Is this sort of thing common?

We were then lamenting (sarcastically of course) that our miscarried embryo was not also named and included in the obituary as well. S suggested that we lovingly refer to the poor miscarried embryo as “Gazpacho”. That made me laugh hysterically, and it stuck. At first, S thought he had crossed the line, what with gazpacho being a red, raw, chunky soup, and felt kind of bad about it. He has  a very interesting sense of humor, and we often try to outdo each other with inappropriate comments, in private, of course. I’m not sure why I find it so funny, but hey, if you can’t laugh about shit like a miscarriage, what can you laugh about? Sometimes humor is the only way to get through bad times.

We decided to tentatively refer to this new potential embryo (that may or may not be currently floating around waiting to implant in my uterus) as “Guacamole”. I’m not quite sure why we are going with a Mexican food theme. But it does make me hungry. I should start thinking of names for future cycles, since this one probably won’t work. There are so many possibilities: Tamale, Nacho, Enchilada. Feel free to add to the list by commenting.

5dpo today. So far I’m not going crazy yet. I totally didn’t realize that you shouldn’t have a massage in the first trimester or 2ww. I have a gift certificate for four (4!) massages, and I can’t use them now and possibly for the next three months, if this cycle works. But wouldn’t that be a great problem to have?!

*** I just discovered that this is my 100th post! Of course, many of my posts in the beginning were quite boring and worthless and not worth reading, but whatever. 100th post on the 1st day of the new year!

Responses

  1. Happy New Year! And 100th post!

    OK, I agree that the unborn-baby naming in the obit is STRANGE. It would make me upset too. Your sense of humor with your husband is totally similar to me and mine, and all our friends. Highly inappropriate! Here are some more suggestions for you:

    Tostada, Chile Relleno, Salsa Verde, and my personal fave, Churro.

    Hoping that Guacamole burrows in and is the one for you guys. Heading across the street now to the Mexican food restaurant!

  2. Hola! Your inappropriate sense of humor sounds very familiar to me…My husband and I have gotten slap happy more than a few times through this process. To me, it means we’re human — how else could we survive? I also think it is VERY weird to include the name of an unborn baby in an obituary — to me, it would be too much like tempting fate. I hardly even admitted to myself that I was pregnant for those few short weeks.

    Congratulations on your 100th post. I am rooting for that little Guacamole!

  3. Chimichanga…I’m not sure if that’s spelled right but it even has a cute nickname – chimi!

    And I would not include the unborn in an obit…that’s weird.

  4. I like chimichanga as well.
    Why no massages?

  5. I can’t believe they put the baby in the obit, but I’m a little superstitous. I think I would have a hard time even having a baby shower before the baby is born.

    I like the nicknames….can you imagine how horrible all this would be if we couldn’t find the funny?

  6. Happy 100th post!

    I like the nicknames… I didn’t come up with a name for my little one until I was in the ER miscarrying. I named it Sebastian. It’s strange isn’t it, how what’s not there and said that really does hit a nerve? I mean, sarcasm or not… it does sting a little. I’ve been learning to navigate that land this year. So many little things that people just don’t realize…

  7. I am casting my vote for chalupa.

    Mr. and I called the baby we lost Cletus the Fetus. We are usually making some kind of hick joke because my darling husband comes from a town NOTORIOUS for being hick.

  8. Glad that you can have a laugh. If the choices are laughing or crying, definitely go for laughing no matter how inappropriate it may seem to other people… screw em.

    Chorizo or sofrito (sofrito is a lumpy green or red sauce fyi)?

    I agree with you about the obit thing. Clearly your uncle and his wife were never infertile.

  9. ha ha. this sounds like something that we would do. (name the embryos, not name the unborn in the obit!)

    btw: nacho is my personal favorite 🙂

  10. […] and Squirrels -I just found her blog, and she, like me, is Highly Inappropriate. I’m a big fan of sarcasm in the face of diversity. I also wish her well in her […]

  11. I, personally, love the humor. You’ve got to laugh sometimes, right??


Leave a Reply

Categories

