Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | December 29, 2008

what do I do with myself now?

I know I need to distract myself for the next two weeks. Last cycle, I said that I really actually liked the two week wait. I do like having a break from the monitoring. I do like that I have some hope. I know that it is out of my hands. But I need to find a way to distract myself. My temp didn’t really go up yesterday or today, so I’m starting to worry that the trigger shot didn’t work. I do have some breast tenderness, and I had a lot of crampy, achy feelings near my right ovary, which is where the one follicle was. I was supposed to start the prometrium yesterday, but decided to wait until today, to see if my temp went up naturally, since I’m sure the prometrium will affect it. It didn’t. It was still right around 98.0, which is what it has been for much of this cycle. Of course, I was sick with food poisoning at the beginning of this cycle, and perhaps that made my preovulation temps higher than they normally are. I know a lot of doctors don’t give a lot of credence to bbt, especially when you are being monitored and controlled by injections. But, it’s so hard not to obsess! The good news is that I haven’t been testing to see if the trigger is gone. I did test once, the day after the trigger, and it was clearly positive, so I know I didn’t screw up the injection, but I have resisted testing to see that the trigger is out. It was out so early last cycle (4-5 dpo) that I’m not too worried about it lingering and causing a false positive. I am planning to test on 12 dpo, which will be Thursday, January 8th. You guys have to hold me to that!

One thing that is nice over the holiday season is that we do puzzles. Jigsaw puzzles. It’s kind of a tradition with S and his parents. Around Christmas and New Year’s they typically do ten or so puzzles, usually 1000-1500 pieces. They don’t mess around! I love puzzles, so I fit right in. Usually we have football games on the tv in the background and we work on the puzzles for hours and hours at a time. It’s so soothing. Growing up, I loved puzzles, but my parents always got annoyed with me taking up various tables with puzzle pieces. I vowed that when I grew up, I would have a designated puzzle table. That hasn’t exactly worked out. The cats love messing with small pieces of things and knocking things off tables, so we haven’t actually done any puzzles at our house. Perhaps someday, if we have an extra bedroom or something, we can have a cat free puzzle space. We were over at his parent’s house until almost midnight working on the latest puzzle. However, instead of watching football, his parents were watching some terribly depressing documentary about elephants, complete with dead and dying baby and mama elephants, showing how they grieve. My emotions are so all over the place that I started crying several times, and tried to hide my tears. I need to make a mental note to warn S that if something similar occurs again, he should request to switch the channel back to football.

S got a new phone yesterday. He got a Blackberry Storm. I’m jealous. I’m not able to get a new phone until the end of March, so I will be waiting for a while (and playing with his). Last night, the restaurant we were having dinner at was playing  crappy eighties songs, and it sparked a debate. We couldn’t remember what the hell the name of that song is by DeBarge. We realized that we could look it up online on his new phone, and were quickly reassured by Wikipedia that the song was indeed “Rhythm of the Night”, like S had thought. I thought for some reason that Gloria Estefen might have done that song, but no. See how useful the internets are! Oh, and random fact, the DeBarge family was originally from Detroit, but later moved to the town we currently live in.

Responses

  1. I agree with you about the 2ww: You feel like something has happened and you’ve done all you could. It’s a good feeling.

    My husband loves doing puzzles, his whole family will sit around sometimes and just working on them all day.

    ICLW

  2. Maybe you should give yourself a puzzle challenge to pass your 2ww? “I will put together 5,000 puzzle pieces before I test.”

    I don’t think you can trust your BBT right now. Sickness, holidays, travel, stress, trigger shots, they could all screw it up. I wouldn’t bother with BBTing at all for the rest of the cycle. Like you said, it’s out of your hands.

    Fingers Crossed!

  3. That elephant show sounds like an exercise in torture — it would have sent me right over the edge. I am glad you are once again in the 2ww and hopeful that it will end with a sticky BFP for you! I agree with the previous comment — I think you should let yourself off the BBT hook and take the prometrium.

  4. Oh I wish I had words of wisdom for you. Truly I do. I know that I’ve wished to be put in to a medically induced coma for the two week wait – but I think simple distraction is probably a much healthier plan!

    Can you take a trip perhaps? Or embark on an engrossing project that will take – oh, approximately two weeks? Those get my votes.

    Fingers crossed for you!

    Mo
    http://www.lifeandloveinthepetridish.blogspot.com

  5. I have never successfully distracted myself for the entire two weeks. I always crack around day ten.

    I have some success throwing myself into work.

  6. so excited for you! 😉

    you need to distract yourself. my vote is for pampering things. facials. manis and pedis. just no massages. my friend swears that certian points can trigger the uterus to contract and can decrease pregnancy outcomes. who knows.

    read trashy mags: ok, star, people. 😉

    hang in there.

  7. Fingers crossed for you. Good luck! I am never able to distract myself so kudos to you if you are able to go to day 12. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

