Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | December 27, 2008

IUI #2

S and I got up bright and early today to produce and drop off the semen. We had an hour and a half to kill, so we went to Panera and had breakfast. When we got back to the RE, we had to wait for 45 minutes. I’ve never had to wait much there, but it was a Saturday, and I think they had a lot of IUI’s to do because of the holiday closures. We were apparently the last one. We sat there while five couples got called back in front of us, some of whom arrived after we did. S was getting really agitated. He hates waiting.

We finally get brought back into a room, and the nurse tells us that the doctor, the actual RE is going to do the IUI! Wow! I’m going to actually get to see the doctor. It’s the other doctor that I haven’t met before, but he was really nice. It made the wait worth it. He did the IUI quickly and I barely felt a thing. Then I got to ask my questions. I asked if I could try progesterone supplementation this month, since I had the miscarriage last cycle. I was afraid he wouldn’t let me, but he was okay with it. He prescribed prometrium for me. I told him that I had a pretty crappy response this cycle, and I wanted a plan for what we would do differently next month, if this cycle doesn’t work. He looked at my chart and said yeah, we should change things a bit. He made out a plan for next cycle and put it in my chart. I wrote down what heΒ  said. It’s not radically different, but he does up the dose earlier. He did agree that while the miscarriage sucked, the fact that I got pregnant is good and means we can do IUI for 4 cycles before thinking about moving on. I don’t know if he meant 4 additional ones, or 4 total, though.Β  Overall, I feel really good about the time he spent with us, and his answers to my questions. I like him better than the doctor I had my initial consultation with.

I’m supposed to take the prometrium 200mg, vaginally, twice a day, starting tomorrow. This will be my first ever experience with prometrium. What can I expect? Will it make me tired? How messy is it? I did the trigger shot myself, early early Friday morning. I did pee on a stick to see the positive from the trigger. I am hoping that I can stop obsessively testing this cycle,Β  after my experience last cycle with the bfp on 15dpo. But, here’s the crazy me thinking, well, clearly there was something wrong with that embryo. If it was viable, it probably would have been a bfp sooner, right? I can at least relax about the progesterone. I have previously justified my crazy testing because I was worried about the progesterone levels, and wanted to catch a bfp as quickly as possible so I could get a beta and progesterone level. I think I should set the goal of first testing at 12 dpo. That’s reasonable, right?

Oh, oh, I almost forgot the best news of all – 66 million total motile sperm post wash! That’s so much better than last time. Last time we had 10 million. We don’t know about the morphology yet, but hey, that’s a huge increase. Maybe the vitamins are starting to help?

Responses

  1. That is an awesome improvement! Holy Vitamins Batman!

    I have never taken the prometrium vaginally. Only orally. I am so glad they gave it to you.

  2. Congrats on a great RE visit. I hope this works out for you.

    Sorry, no advice on the progesterone…. we never got to that point.

    GreenEggs

    *iclw*

  3. Wow about the vitamins! Hope this cycle works out, glad you got to talk to a doc. I’m glad they gave you the prometrium.

    Fingers crossed for you!

  4. Glad your iui went well hon – and even better that you got to speak to the Dr. I think its important to have a plan going forward, to prepare for the ‘just in case’ scenario.

    Keeping everything crossed for you hon xxx

  5. Wow, that is an amazing count increase!! And, I’m really glad you got the answers and face-time from your doctor. You know we’re going to hold you to your 12dpo testing statement, right?

    πŸ™‚

  6. What kind of vitamins is he taking? I have count envy. Those numbers are really, really good.

    I’ve taken prometrium both IUIs at the same dose. I didn’t have a lot of side effects except for the fact that it made me a little hyper at times. Also, it can be a little messy as oftentimes the first (or second or third even) dose isn’t quite finished when it is time for the next round. This might just be me though πŸ™‚

  7. WOW! That is a great count increase!!! Good luck!
    πŸ™‚
    ICLW

  8. Yeah, I’m so glad this IUI went smoothly and you got some face time with the Dr.

    Prometrium isn’t so bad. You need to read my catch phrase list from the other day! I think the 200mg ones are yellow, so you will probably have yellow discharge (ick!). Wear a liner. Otherwise not so messy. DH and I can have sex before putting a new one in with out him being grossed out. I always worry that I’m not getting it far enough up there, but it’s probably not a big deal as long as it’s up there.

    TMI tip, don’t put it in till after you’ve done your “daily business”. I’m always worried that if I put it in before and then have a BM, that I could end up pushing it out.

  9. I have used several different types of progesterone supplements, and some are messier than others. Definitely wear a pantiliner and use underwear that you don’t mind messing up. I also wear pants that are easy to wash because there can be some oily spots.

    Personally I haven’t noticed other side effects, but I don’t tend to have as many effects from meds as a lot of people.

    Good luck!

  10. That count is fabulous — am so excited for you. Am also so glad you had QT with a doctor you felt good about. For me, that makes a world of difference in how calm I am able to be (which is — let’s face it — never totally calm but calmer with a doctor I trust). I have never taken Prometrium but I have taken both progesterone suppositories and Crinone. I think they’re all basically the same…they’re messy but they work. I did notice side effects from the Crinone — fatigue and ravenous hunger (they happened this past cycle when I got pg but I believe they were from the Crinone as they started earlier than I would have felt pg symptoms). Anyway, you will do great with them, I am sure. Fingers crossed for a BFP this cycle!

  11. yea! that sounds so great! i am so excited that you were able to cycle so quickly. i have good feelings about this. πŸ˜‰

    the prometrium is not very messy. i just tried to lay down for 30 min after i put it in. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

