Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | December 21, 2008

it must have been the mujadara

Thursday night I was up all night vomiting. Literally all night. I think I had food poisoning. I haven’t thrown up in years. I hate hate hate throwing up. We went out to dinner with S’s parents to this Mediterranean restaurant that we go to frequently, and I got my favorite thing, mujadara fattouch. The restaurant is a little sketchy, but we go there all the time and have never had any issues. I had hummus, mujadara, and a bite of S’s falafel. No one else got sick. S had a few bites of my food, but he was fine. The only thing I can think is that my immune system is compromised (perhaps from the miscarriage?) and I was just susceptible to food borne disease. It was awful. Absolutely awful. Poor S was so worried. He awoke to me screaming for help from the bathroom. He took very good care of me and cleaned up some not so pretty things. He later told me that the sounds I made while throwing up will haunt him forever.

Of course my sickness coincided with the biggest snowstorm we’ve had this year. We happened to have some saltines, but no gatorade or anything for me to drink. I was so dehydrated. Later the next day, I finally sent S to the store to get sickness provisions once the roads were somewhat cleared. I’m feeling a lot better today, but still very weak and exhausted. Does anyone know if a bout of food poisoning or a stomach bug will keep follicles from growing? The first thing I thought was shit, my body won’t be focusing on growing eggs now. Am I wasting all this follistim? I’m dehydrated, exhausted, in pain, and stressed out. It can’t be a good thing when you hurt your back throwing up!

In follistim news, the past two nights I have clicked one notch higher on the pen. Oops. Just one notch. I have an ultrasound and bloodwork on Monday.


Responses

  1. Eeek – hope you are feeling a bit better hon. We seem to do so many things in sync, I was up vomiting last night but mine was self-induced from too much vino!

    Good on you for notching up the dial – I have done it before and although I felt naughty, I felt like I had more control over what I was doing. Hopefully it helps your eggs do their thing!

  2. Hope you feel better soon. Hugs.

    ICLW

  3. oh you poor thing! i hope you feel better soon! good luck with your check tomorrow.. hope that extra click helped!!

  4. šŸ™‚ can’t wait to hear what the US says…. and hope you are feeling better.

    xx

  5. Oh, you poor thing! That is the worst feeling in the world. I’m glad you’re going in tomorrow, maybe you can ask the nurses if being sick will affect the process.

    Hope you feel much better today!

  6. As someone who also hates — and actually fears — vomiting, I totally sympathize. Hope you feel better soon and that your ultrasound shows those follicles are doing their thing in there. I highly doubt that your food poisoning would impact them…I have been seriously stressed out and sick while cycling and it hasn’t had an impact. I think the medicine overrides everything else, you know?

  7. feel better soon!! there’s nothing worse than being sick during the holidays so i hope it subsides soon!

    iclw

  8. I think there is an echo because I’m going to say it too, oh you poor thing! God, that sounds awful. I always think that I should be safer from getting food poisoning being a vegetarian and all, but it doesn’t seem to be the case with tomatoes, salad, and peanut butter all having some thing in them these days. I think it’s required for all Indian restaurant to be a little sketchy.

    I’m with Good Egg Hunting, all that Follistim will override all the other stuff going on now. You living life on the edge clicking it up a notch (jk). I hope it works!

  9. Food poisoning is the worst! I have had it a few times. Hope you are feeling better soon.


Leave a comment

Categories