Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | December 10, 2008

Beta update

The nurse called back. She confirmed that it is positive. I guess I’m not seeing things.

But, my hcg level is  only 20. I asked frantically if that was low for 15dpo and the nurse said that it’s fine, that it’s still really early. It seems awfully low to me. I will recheck the beta on Friday. Please cross your fingers for doubling.

Then I asked what my progesterone level was. She said oh we didn’t check your progesterone. I said yes, it was checked on the lab sheet. She put me on hold and came back and said “Well, we don’t normally check progesterone because it’s not very reliable (wtf?).  Did you ask specifically for it?” I told her yes, I requested that, since it’s kinda important for a pregnancy, and my gynecologist never bothered to check it. She got kinda bitchy and reluctantly told me that my progesterone level is 17.8 and that’s fine and they won’t check it again on Friday. Whatever. You hear all the time about women having day 21 P4 checks, and women that get routinely prescribed progesterone supplements, especially with fertility treatments. Plus, I AM PAYING FOR THIS. YOU WORK FOR ME, PISSY NURSE! I have come too far to not be assertive and be my own advocate. Unfortunately I am still too sensitive and let it get to me.

Wow. Can this really be happening? This is a serious lesson for me not to test early and not to rely on FRER. I drove myself absolutely crazy this cycle. You guys were right – wait until 14-15 dpo. I’m shocked and happy and scared and under no illusions that we’re out of the woods. It is still really early. There are many things that can go wrong. I think the thing I’m mainly happy about is that the IUI/Follstim combo worked. We know the 3% normal sperm are enough to do the job. If this embryo doesn’t stick, we can do IUI again.

This has to be contagious. The rash of BFP’s will spread! Let the wild BFP rumpus start!

Responses

  1. HOORAY!! happy ++++ beta day to you!! i’m so happy for you! 😀

    what a butthead nurse! checking progesterone is not weird at all!

    thinking sticky thoughts for friday!!

  2. Yeah!!!

  3. Congratulations! Thinking doubling beta thoughts for you.

  4. Woohoo, congratulations! Remember, what really matters is that is doubles every 48 hours. Are they going to test again? Either way, sending you sticky vibes!

  5. Seriously! I leave you for a day, and you get yourself pregnant?!

    You have given me SO much hope (not that it’s about me right now)! I am sending lots of positive thoughts….and crossing my fingers for doubling betas! Yay you!!!!!

  6. i’m so excited for you!

    let’s hope it spreads! 🙂

  7. I am so excited for you! I was thinking about you yesterday, I am so thrilled!

    I would agree you have given me hope too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

