Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | November 22, 2008

faking it

Okay, so I know I said Project Positive failed, but I think I’m just not trying hard enough. I told myself I would fake positivity if I had to. So I will. 

First off, thanks for all of your comments.  I didn’t realize that posting comments on wordpress is such a bitch if you don’t have an account. I’m sorry! I chose wordpress over blogspot kind of randomly when I set up the blog, and I didn’t realize.

I am actually feeling better about things today. In the scheme of things, I am on a fairly reasonable dose of follistim. I was just hoping that we would be able to keep costs down and not have to buy more follistim this month. I do realize that it is much better to take a longer stimulation period than to have the cycle cancelled. I suppose the RE’s know what they are doing. On the other hand, if on Monday, nothing is maturing, I will be absolutely pissed. I’ve read that follicles can grow 2-3 mm a day, so the one that was 13 on Friday will hopefully be ready to go. That is, if my body cooperates.

I did have a pleasant surprise happen last night. I was getting ready to do my injection, and S and I noticed that the two 300IU cartridges that were supposed to be empty still had a good bit of medicine left. We ended up being able to do last nights’ 150 IU injection by using the leftovers from the two cartridges. Of course that meant doing two injections instead of one, but hell, to save $100, I’d inject myself ten times if I had to. I know they put more in the cartridges than it says, to allow you to check for air bubles and such, but is it weird that we had 75 IU left in each one? Could my follstim pen be miscalibrated? Did I screw up a few of the previous injections? I don’t think I did. The researcher in me is looking all over for sources of error.

Anyhow, I am trying to fake being positive, and I have set some goals. My goals for the weekend are:

-get lots of sleep. Does anyone know if it’s okay to take Tylenol PM while doing injectables? I sure as hell hope so, because I was desperate last night with the ankle pain at bedtime and I took one Tylenol PM. Just one. And I slept for a glorious nine hours.

-try not to go to the bad place. I have the lovely relaxation music I downloaded from iTunes on Celia’s recommendation. I played it in the car on the way to the RE appointment on Friday, and it made me feel quite relaxed, which lasted until the mean nurse attacked my lady bits the the wand of pain and disappointment. I shall listen to that if I need to.

-stop snapping at S. I’ve been very snappy because of the sprained ankle thing, and while he is usually good about taking care of me when I’m sick, he hasn’t been as attentive the past few days. I have been bitchy and demanding and generally not very fun to be around.

-work on the baby blanket I am knitting for our friends whose baby is due in January. I am maybe 25% done. I have a lot to knit, and January is not that far away.

-find a Tofurkey for Thursday!

Responses

  1. I am so glad you got the music. We listen every night.

    I did some “blogkeeping” I know, that was so lame but I could not resist. So now I have a link to you on there.

    I don’t know about Tylenol for stimming, but it’s safe for pregnant women.

    I tried giving Mr. Naughtypants the toilet paper tube like you suggested and it is a hit!

    Cuddle up on the couch and feel better!

    celia

  2. I had the same experience with Follistim (and Gonal-F, actually). I screwed up a dose and my nurse was the one who told me I could squeeze an extra one out, so I think it’s intentional. Finally a win for IFers against the drug company! Enjoy your bonus drugs and good luck this cycle!

    (here from ICLW)

  3. Nah- there’s normally a fair bit left in each cartridge. At what the stuff costs, I used to use it, too.

    J

  4. I think most injectibles have some extra, so use it or lose it. Good luck this cycle and with project postive! I hope your ankle heals quickly!

  5. i have been known to get a needle and pull the extra out that way, too 🙂 it’s so expensive that i can’t see wasting any. i have frequently given myself several shots from the ends of pens to equal a total dose. 🙂

    you have some good goals…hope things work out!
    *hugs*
    http://www.aprilbrokenbits.blogspot.com

  6. I don’t know anything about the Follitism, but I would have done the same thing. Those are really great & positive goals for the weekend…especially the one about getting lots of sleep!

  7. Being injured can put anyone in a snappy mood. Combine injury with infertility treatment and you can guarantee a craptastic outlook on things. Feel better and good luck with this cycle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

