Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | November 19, 2008

a mixed up day: bad and good, and good and bad

I made it through the night alone, though I didn’t sleep much, and got up to go to my RE appointment. I got my blood drawn, which didn’t hurt too badly. I can imagine that over the next week, I’ll get some nice bruises. I had an ultrasound with Lisa, the good nurse. The good news is that my lining is nearly 10mm! That’s the best it has ever been. It had been only 2-5 mm on clomid, so this is quite an improvement. I had two 12mm follicles on my right ovary, with 5 or 6 more little ones. On my left ovary, there were some 8mm ones, but nothing that she said looked too promising. She told me to increase my follistim from 75 IU to 112 IU tonight and tomorrow night. I go back Friday to see if they are ready to trigger. So that part was good. The bad part is that I need to reorder more follistim, because I won’t have enough to finish this cycle. There’s another $800 down the drain. I know, if this cycle doesn’t work, I can use it for next cycle. But, I’m really hoping this cycle will work. Project Positive.

Then the bad part of my day happened. S called from the airport around noon, and suggested we meet for lunch. I was talking to my sister while I was getting ready to leave the house, and when I went out into the garage, I somehow slipped and twisted my ankle pretty badly going down the two stairs in the garage. It was cold – in the thirties, and the garage was open. I called S and told him I thought I might have broken my ankle, and asked him to come home. Luckily he was only about ten minutes away. I sat there on the freezing garage floor, propping my rapidly swelling ankle up on a bucket, trying to figure out the best way to get back in the house. S arrived and helped me inside and we put ice on it immediately. Unfortunately, I was wearing these slip on hiking boot things, the kind that have laces, but they are all attached and you just pull them, so there is no detachable tongue on the shoe. That hurt like a bitch to take off.

We spent two hours at the urgent care center waiting for x rays. Luckily, it’s not broken. It’s just a bad sprain. I got this weird looking air splint thing, which doesn’t really seem to help. Neither does the plain Tylenol they told me to take. Oh well. I’m just glad I don’t have to use crutches. Crutches + snow and ice = very bad. I have a hard enough time just walking in the snow and ice here.

I am starting to feel pretty swollen in the abdomen area. I’m also starting to get emotional. Everything is making me cry. I really hope that increasing the follistim will make those two 12mm follies (and a few more) to grow a lot in the next two days. Grow, grow, grow!

Responses

  1. Hot water with lemon will help with water retention. Of course then you wil have to hobble to the bathroom. I am so sorry you hurt yourself. I am sending comforting pats on the arm.

  2. Wow, that sucks. I’m really sorry about the pain. I’m hoping for a speedy recovery for you.

    I wanted to let you know that my cat only likes her basket b/c there is a Purr Pad in it. She loves those things and they keep her old bones warm in this colder weather. We’ve had really good luck with our cats and Purr Pads and have even given them to friends and family for their kitties.


Leave a Reply

Categories

