Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | November 11, 2008

Furnishing the pit

I’ve struggled with depression for a long time. I’ve been on antidepressants for years and years. This infertility shit doesn’t help. Many years ago, while talking with a friend, I described it as being in a deep, dark pit, and that I had been there so long, I felt like I should furnish it – get some curtains, a nice cozy chair, a table. So, “furnishing the pit” became kind of our code phrase for being in a really bad place.

I’m not furnishing the pit yet, but it sounds like Sue is having a very very very bad time lately. I just stumbled across her blog over the weekend, and  I’ve read her story and cried and cried. I really hope that with the help of her family and friends, her doctors, and some good medications, that she is able to start getting out of the pit. While I am so sad that she is feeling so awful, and I hope she feels better quickly, it’s oddly reassuring to me that other people have many of the same thoughts that I have had. There is so much hope and strength and wisdom in the infertility and pregnancy loss blogging community. It constantly amazes me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

