Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 28, 2008

are you married?

That’s the first question that the receptionist asked when I called up one of the two reproductive endocrinologists in our town. Here’s the conversation:

Me: Hi, I need to make an appointment for an initial consultation with Dr. Blahblahblah.
Her: Okay. Are you married?
Me: Yes…
Her: Okay, great, what’s your date of birth………….

Seriously. It was the first thing she asked. I was taken off guard by the question, so I didn’t question it , but now, I’m really agitated about it. We have friends, who are currently pregnant with their second child. They live about an hour away from us in a more conservative town. They had to go to a town an hour away in order for one of them to get inseminated. They said they looked into the fertility clinics in our town but they would only accept heterosexual married couples. I had wondered at the time, when do they determine this? Apparently it’s the first thing they ask. And this is at the more liberal of the two clinics in our town. The other one, the one where S had his semen analysis processed, is listed on some pro life websites and has some christian bullshit on their website. I have no problem with people who are religious, but when it comes to my medical care, I believe that it is none of my doctor’s business what my beliefs are, and I don’t give a rat’s ass what his or her beliefs are, and that shouldn’t have ANYTHING to do with my treatment.

I’m upset that my best (and possibly only) option for an RE is discriminating against people who cannot legally marry. I’m upset that I have to go there in the first place. I’m upset that my insurance won’t even cover ultrasounds leading up to insemination. I’m fucking pissed off. About everything.

Leave a Reply

Categories

