Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | August 15, 2008

the semen analysis collection day

I finally scheduled S for a day to bring in a sample. It happened to be a Friday. I thought I would be helpful and call and schedule the appointment myself so that S did not have to utter the words “sperm sample” in his cubicle with all his coworkers overhearing. I think he was a little nervous, but he hasn’t said anything. He has said before that he doesn’t understand why I feel bad about myself having PCOS, that I shouldn’t be ashamed of it. He says that if he has a low sperm count, he won’t feel like less of a man, but I think if that’s what the results say, sure it’s probably not going to feel so good.

The other night, he did a practice run with the approved mineral oil lubricant. It went fine. This morning, after I turned on the dvd player, I was banned from the bedroom. I waited downstairs for a while. Finally I hear “We have success!”. Then the timer was on. I put the sample cup in my bra and raced to the lab, which is at our hospital. Of course traffic was terrible, and I kept thinking that the sperm were dying. I made it thiere in 20 minutes, and had to answer some embarrassing questions at the check in window of the really small, really full waiting room. We had to pay $65 (50% of the actual cost). They said we’d hear in 3 to 5 days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

