Posted by: birdsandsquirrels | March 14, 2013

7 months

Wow it has been a while since I last posted. Baby J is 8 months old now and is in so many ways a great baby. He is very good natured, sweet and smiley, he adores Birdie, and he is a little bundle of cute. However, he doesn’t sleep. Many days, he might only nap for 45 minutes during the day. At night lately he has been sleeping 2 to 2.5 hour stretches. The good thing is that when he is awake, he is generally pleasant and cute, so it is hard to be frustrated with him. But I’m TIRED! Birdie hasn’t napped in weeks, and I am afraid that she never will again.

He is much much better in the car now, thank goodness! For the first 5 or so months it was awful, horrible crying nearly every time we were in the car. It made it very difficult to go places. Then slowly after 6 months it got better and better, and now it is maybe 1/10 times he will cry in the car seat. Sometimes I forget how awful it was.

The holidays were so fun. Birdie really got excited about Christmas and her birthday. She has been so much fun lately, but potty training has stalled. I’ll save that for another post.

Breastfeeding has been difficult. He weaned off the nipple shields back in October over about a week. Around then, he also stopped taking the occasional bottle of supplemental formula. So it is all nursing all the time, and he is on the small side, 40th percentile for height, 15% for weight. I was taking fenugreek to boost my supply but then I kept getting blocked ducts (on the left side especially) and last week I got mastitis. It has been hard. He is eating more solids though, so I hope that we can manage to fatten him up a little.

Post partum depression wise, I am doing much better. Some days are still rough, but I found a new doctor (mostly good but not perfect) and he upped my dosage of wellbutrin to 450mg, which is the maximum. Winter has been long and rough and I am ready for spring so we can be outside again.

I miss blogging and have been reading blogs on my phone this whole time, but I just never have a moment to sit down at the computer and actually comment or write posts. At the beginning of the year I started a 365 day photo/blog project, and I have kept up with that only because I can take pictures and post from my phone. The whole point was to force myself to use my good camera and get better at photography, but I only end up taking pictures with my phone! Oh well. At the end of the year, I will hopefully be able to make a book with that blog. My family back home love it because they get to see our day to day life in the pictures and stories.

Pictures to come soon…

 

Responses

  1. so good to hear from you!!! i’m glad to hear things are going fairly well aside of the no sleep thing which can be a pretty big thing. as far as potty training goes, louise and birdie are REALLY close in age, i think birdie was born in decmber ’09 right? louise was born january ’10 and i was getting a little worried about potty training too because louise was very resistant, then suddenly it was like a switch turned on and she was ready. she’s not 100% there yet but she’s doing really well and i suspect you’ll have a similar experience with birdie.

  2. It’s good to hear from you again! I’m glad that things are going better PP depression wise, and that things are getting easier in many ways. I hope they continue getting easier, and that the kiddos sleep for you.

  3. I had mastitis four times with my first and double mastitis once with my second so far. Right after I got infected with my second I came across people talking about the supplement Lecithin. It basically helps keep ducts from plugging. (If you google you will find a decent Kelly Mom article on it.) I asked lactation consultants and they agreed it was worth a try. I’ve been taking it for six weeks and haven’t had a plugged duct. I for sure would have by now. I swear by the stuff. I’m no doctor, research on your own but I know it’s been a total miracle find for me.

  4. welcome back!! :) i think that your PPD is not helped by the weather here. :( when i got back from DC i was shocked to really pay attention to how GREY it is here. if anyone has SAD it is no wonder why!!

    i can’t believe how old that baby is. can’t wait for pictures :)

  5. I was just walking down memory lane on my first IF/pregnancy blog, saw your name in one of the comments and wanted to see what you’re up to. I hope the fact that you haven’t posted in a while means you’re just insanely busy but enjoying every moment with the kids!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

